Ecological Gardening & Tiny House project // VEGAN & VEGETARIAN FRIENDLY :D



Favourited 46 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Onnela is a big family house on the countryside, but with excellent bus connections to Helsinki (35km distance).
    Onnela means happy place and thats what we strive to create! The house is all vegetarian, non-smoking, and also we hardly ever use alcohol either. Its a open minded and heartfelt place, and we have lots of experience with having visitors from all over the world. Creativity, new ideas, building community, earthloving, animal-friendly... those all describe us.

    The household consists of 5 adults = ages 58, 60, 32, 28 and 25. So basicly we like it here so much that only one of our family has moved out. Being near nature (forests, lakes, national park) and having the city connection is a neat combo.
    There are several lakes nearby to go to swim too an a lovely sauna to rent also. We can borrow bicycles, so you can get around nicely. The distance to the bus stop is 200m and the bus goes straight into the middle of Helsinki, that has many lovely sites to visit. Nearest grocery shop 500m, bigger shops, pharmacy, schools etc 2km. Library 1,5km.


    We have a big ecological garden that we needs lots of help with - general maintaining. For those who like building, there is a fun tiny house project with all natural materials, see:

    We also have some cute pet ducks (5) and we wanna develope their house as well, make it even more pretty.

    We use organic materials whenever possible, prefer to build in happy atmosphere & good vibes.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a big happy vegetarian house with lots of space, big garden and ecological projects. In the garden 5 happy ducks roam around. We live near a popular nature park, close by lakes and even a nice sauna - by a lake. On the other hand, we have great bus connections to Helsinki, which offers many possibilities to travelers such as island hoping and different cultural experiences.

  • Help


    I´m building a cute tiny house on wheels with help of friends. This house is made of mostly organic materials - mainly wooden materials, insultaion will be hemp and so on... exterior is finished, interior needs your help :D Especially if you know about plumming and such things, would be awesome! Also our duck house could use some finishing touches, as well as the garden also... :)

    ALSO gardening stuff. Let us know what kind of work you like!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, german, finnish

  • Accommodation


    Your own room. There are 2 guest rooms attached that can be separated. Firstly we plan to accommodate 2 workawayers, so both get their own room, but we also welcome a couple+1 for example, because the other room has a double bed. The house is in a village next to a field, close to forests and lakes. The house is surrounded by a organic and partly wild garden. In the garden there are friendly ducks and also friendly honey bees (only one hive). In the house there are living 5 adults and 2 cats.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Sauna, lakes, nature, great bus connections to Helsinki, coming and going is very easy. Natural park bicycle distance away, and yes, you can borrow a bike from us :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 532436588391