Complete Barn Renovation in the beautiful French Alps. Dogs with well behaved owners welcome!

Favourited 30 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    11/08/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D




  • Description

    Description

    Hi there, we are Ro & Sam.
    We sold up our buisness in 2012 and bought an American RV to go on a "midlife gap year" touring Europe.
    We got as far as our first ski season, having volunteered ourselves as workaways, (feel free to search us for references!) and haven't left!

    We have settled in the beautiful French Alps and adore the lifestyle it brings, We have now bought ourselves a barn that is a total renovation project with us doing all the work.

    We are both in our early 40s, and before giving it all up to "live the dream" and buy a pub, Ro was a theatre nurse and Sam was a theatre (the entertainment kind!) technical manager. We have lived all over the place, and have settled in this beautiful part of the world, feeling like we have finally come home.

    If you have any questions, feel free to drop us an email and we will endeavour to answer!
    Thanks for reading the wall of text and we hope to meet you soon!
    Ro & Sam

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for genuine help with anything and are very grateful for anything you can offer! There are plenty of unskilled jobs to be getting on with as well as skilled joinery and building experience would be very welcome! We would prefer you to stay a minimum 2 weeks as it gives us chance to make progress, and you a chance to see the area and enjoy its beauty.

    We are looking for flexibility, as we need to get the job done, so would prefer if you were happy to work 3 full days and have 4 off (equivalent of 4 hours a day for 6 days) which will give you plenty of time to explore this beautiful area. In return, we will provide on site accomodation in the village of Doucy, basic breakfast - cereals, yoghurt, juice etc. light lunch and provisions for dinner / a cooked dinner depending on the day and whether Ro is home or working away.

    We plan on putting in a second floor and new roof during May and June of 2017, part of the floor involves building a small cantilevered terrace & balcony, so whilst we need semi skilled help and people who are ok at heights, being practical and physically fit are fairly important. There are lots of ways to help, and lots of jobs both skilled and unskilled to do, so a willing attitude, quick learner and ability to "just get on with it" is probably more important to us. We are flexible, easy going and sociable, but have a project and a deadline with little to no budget!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English Native, French passable!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The first floor is in the barn, so whilst basic, its warm and dry with your own bathroom. We plan on getting 2 bedrooms up and running, all be it with basic walls, one will sleep 2 people in a double, the other 4 in a double and bunk when finished so if you are not happy sharing with others, please let us know. We are happy to take dogs, we are dog lovers, but would ask that they are well behaved / trained, simply because we have close neighbours and lots of cats and dogs in the village.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area is Valmorel, with its walking, cycling, Kayaking, Mountain biking, via ferratas, outdoor pool, stunning scenery and much more, so plenty to do for those who love the outdoors, or just breathtaking scenery.

    Your own vehicle is almost a necessity as we may not be able to run you about on your time off and buses dont really exist! We have a couple of old mountain bikes you can use though! The nearest supermarket is about 15 minutes drive down the hill. To make the most of the area a car would be best.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak passable French, and are building the barn ourselves, so you will no doubt learn new skills and possibly a few new swear words!

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    3x 8 hour days then 4 days off

Photos


My Photo Album


Feedback

Host ref number: 498921541723