Easy living and lending a hand in a vibrant family home in the cosmopolitan city of Melbourne, AUS



Favourited 165 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    59.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

  • Description


    To prospective workawayers. My name is Zena Hughes and I reside in a gorgeous inner-city suburb in Melbourne called Fairfield, only 25 minutes from Melbourne's thriving CBD. I live with my mother Irene and 17 year old sister Ophelia. We have the sweetest cavoodle called Ava, a ball of fluff that thinks she is human. We are a family of Greek descent, my grandparents arrived to Australia in the 1950's but have since called Australia home. From the outset, our family home is quite large. Mum is an architect, so naturally she bought a block of land and sub-divided, building a house on two thirds of the block and keeping the vacant land free until we decided what to do with it. In 2004, we decided on building a second home for the purpose of hosting international students studying English in Melbourne. Today, we have four beautifully-appointed rooms for international students and a very energetic, happy household that is full of life and fond memories. Mum is now working in a senior position in local government, project manager for a number of community facilities, and has come to the stage where she could really benefit from a willing helping hand around the house. We would like to invite a friendly and able person to help with day-to-day chores. We have the ideal family environment, warm and open. In return, we would like to extend our friendship and knowledge of living like a local in Melbourne. Please feel free to contact us directly.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in an international household that is lively and has a bright atmosphere. Dinner table discussions in particular are unique and interesting with topics being flavored by varied cultural opinions. Our home environment has the youthfulness of a share house and nurturing and supportive nature, minus the mess. We have helped many students in the past with their English through these discussions as well as colloquial Australian dialogue.

  • Help


    We would need help with household chores including vacuuming, dusting, mopping, cleaning bathrooms, cooking and maintaining general tidiness. We would also benefit from gardening help, including hedge trimming, pruning, weeding and keeping our vegetable garden healthy.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English. Greek.

  • Accommodation


    The lucky workawayer will be sleeping in the spacious guest room and will share the second floor with myself, my sister and my mum. There is a large bathroom a short walking distance from your bedroom. Your bedroom us fully equipped with a desk, wardrobe, bed and bedding and window north-facing the daily sun. Our section of the home is entirely separated from the section for International students, allowing for privacy and a quiet environment.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are looking for 4-5 hours of work a day, but this is just a guide and there will be flexibility with the days you complete tasks. So over the weekend, you are more than welcome to enjoy all that Melbourne has to offer. We are a short 15 minute walk away from Fairfield Station and it is a short 20 minute commute into the Melbourne CBD. We are a 15 minute bus ride away from an edgy area called Northcote with parks, amazing eateries and really good coffee. We are a family that enjoys showcasing what Melbourne has to offer. You will be welcomed to join us for social and family events. You will be living like a local with us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 489297999447