Help me with some home de-cluttering and recycling projects in the Cam Valley, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My house is set in the picturesque area of the Cam Valley, with stunning views.

    I have lived in the area for the last 26 years and as you can imagine, I have accumulated a lot of memories. My sons have moved out and are currently living in France.

    I live 5 minutes walk from two small groceries stores, 2 coffee shops, a post office, a chemist, an Indian restaurant, a pizza take away, a charity shop, 2 pubs and bus stop, and a few churches. There is also a dentist surgery and a GP surgery.

    I have a part time job in the retail industry, and love the contact with the clientele. I am fairly extrovert, and love meeting new people and when possible sharing experiences with them and have a good banter.

    I have a very practical mind and like finding solutions to help being more efficient. Whilst I am able to achieve this at work, at home is a different story as I get easily distracted and end up proscratinating too much, however, when others are around, I seem to be more motivated to complete tasks.

    I am quite particular in the way things should be done to achieve best efficiency without making work more difficult, but I am happy to try new ways if they prove to be better over all. Life is all about learning from one another, right? ;-) I truly believe nobody is ever too old to learn new things and I strongly disagree with the saying: "you can not teach an old dog new tricks".

    I love many things, I have experience in various fields, but my favourite is by far hot air ballooning. I have been in the world of ballooning on and off for 31 years and never get tired of it.

    I am also extra hot on reduce. reuse, recycle and expect everyone who stay with me to respect this rule. I am a keen supporter of Terracycle and every month our village runs a collection point for the inhabitants to drop off specific single use plastics to them to be sent to Terracycle. There is also a weekly recycling collection run by our local council.

    I am looking for workawayer(s) who will be self motivated with a good work ethic and keen in helping me. I enjoy music and if you know how to play the piano, I do have one at home that has been a tad silent since my sons have moved out, and it is crying to be vocal again.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I will be more than happy to help you practice and improve your English and/or French, and from time to time take you to visit places of interests close by, such as Bath, Bristol etc...
    You will be able to learn about the local history and if possible about hot air ballooning, weather permitting.

  • Help

    Help

    I need help to sort out my belongings and de-cluttering my house as well as general maintenance in the garden as I find it very difficult on my own.
    The plan is to empty the house.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedroom(s) in the house, shared bathroom.
    We will prep together and share meals at lunch time, and on the evenings I am not working.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I live in the countryside south of Bath, loads of walks in the area and buses go through the village every 20 minutes. I work three afternoons/evenings a week, so will only require your help when I am around, giving you plenty of time to go and visit places in the UK if you desire.
    I also have bicycles you could use on the local Sustrans routes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week (flexible)



Host ref number: 229372181467