Help with horses and other animals on a rural property only 30 minutes outside Canberra, Australia's capital

Country

Australia

Favourited 226 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/12/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    72.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a rural property around 30 minutes outside Canberra, Australia's capital city. It is a great spot - it feels like you are in the middle of the countryside but the city is within easy reach. And we are just 1.5 hours from the beach, 1.5 hours from the ski fields and 3 hours from Sydney. We love animals and we have horses, dogs, cats and chickens. The house is large and modern, so you will be very comfortable indeed. As of February 2018, we have a baby boy.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    We are primarily looking for someone to help with the care of our animals. Confidence handling big horses is essential. If you don't want to ride, that's ok, but we do need you to be comfortable bringing the horses in from the fields to their stables. We have two gorgeous dogs, who like to be walked and played with, and help feeding the chickens and collecting eggs would be much appreciated. We would also appreciate some help with general tasks involved in running the household and gardening. We run a small equestrian and pet products online business, which our volunteers generally find interesting. Volunteers are welcome to help with that, in particular social media marketing, which provides valuable office and marketing experience.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will experience living in the Australian countryside and its amazing wildlife. You will see kangaroos and incredible birds every day, plus wombats, possums and more. We can offer you varied experience with horses, including riding lessons and exposure to a variety of training methods. We have great equestrian facilities, including a large, fully-fenced sand arena. Our Alaskan Malamute enjoys sled racing and you are welcome to come along and try that out too. We can also offer valuable experience in the business in office administration, customer service, marketing and more. The owner is originally from England, but also speaks French and Spanish and is happy for the opportunity to practise those languages.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedroom with own bathroom in a spacious, modern house with a beautiful garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Canberra region has a wealth of things to do: wineries, museums, shopping centres and much more. The beach and the ski slopes are within easy reach, as is Sydney. We always endeavour to give our volunteers special experiences and take them on days out.
    We are a non-smoking household. We are active and like to keep busy, so we are looking for someone with plenty of enthusiasm and energy.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week








Host ref number: 488974567384