Real Aussie farm experience with a young well-travelled family in Maryborough, Victoria , Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 34 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/07/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    562

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there- Laura and Kev here- Want a true Auzzie adventure? We'd love for you to come and experience life on our small family farm. (Cropping,sheep, a few cows, chickens, farm dog)
    We have the luxury of being 10 minutes from town, surrounded by many other lovely country towns and wineries and 2 hours from Melbourne. It’s a busy household with two young girls and Kev also starting a building business. We are both seasoned travelers and love hearing about different cultures, travel stories and learning a bit of the 'lingo'. Help with farm/building and keeping the house/kids under control would be greatly appreciated.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are situated on a family farm, 10 minutes from the local town (12,000 population). Surrounded by many other beautiful country towns, wineries etc. 2 hours from Melbourne. You can learn about Australian farm life- See kangaroos in the wild. We both have travelled around Australia and overseas so have an understanding of different cultures. Having also lived overseas (Germany), I (Laura) understand what it is like learning a new language and will help you practice your English.

  • Help

    Help

    Building/Farm work- Help with keeping the house under control (cleaning,cooking, gardening, shopping) would be greatly appreciated. No fixed schedule- very flexible.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Option to be in new caravan or in family home until self contained cabin build completed. (Family home-brand new modern house built by Kev. You will have your own bedroom and bathroom and be sharing the family kitchen.)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off you can explore the local area- go to local markets, wineries. Go hiking/bush walking. Catch a train to Melbourne for a city escape.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 344829615316