Help and stay on a farm in the Highlands of Scotland and developing English Language Teaching

Favourited 413 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    36  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    18/09/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D




  • Description

    Description

    Here?
    - well- it's the Highlands of Scotland in the middle of mountains overlooking the valley of the river Spey. I run a farm breeding Highland Cattle with accommodation.
    I need help with these but more especially with developing a *️️️️Language School*️️️️.
    Most of the folk who come to help on the farm improve their English and often their TOEIC score- so I thought I would expand the farm operation to include this. I've qualified as a teacher - but need help with market research, publicity and general enterprise development.
    So this enterprise development is important but but of course it's coupled with all the usual farm and maintenance jobs and a good healthy lifestyle in a beautiful place!

    My favourite recreation is mountain walks - set off from the farm and just ask yourself 'How Long?- 40 minutes, 2 hours, 4 hours, 8,10? You probably won't see another human being in that time -just heather and hills, grouse and deer, old tracks and stone walls, sky, space and distances.
    This year I aim to survey the hills around the farm for parapente opportunities- so I can hike-and-fly.
    I run the farm myself breeding pedigree Highland Cattle to a high standard; and providing sympathetic accommodation in the Bunkhouse.

    There are other options too for helping out -
    Fixing fences - good for building strength!
    Tending pastures to bring on good grass and reduce weeds..you'll develop a great tennis backhand slashing thistles!
    Traditional Post and Beam Carpentry - now this I do know something about! (I'm a joiner/furniture-maker to trade).
    General maintenance of buildings inside and out - (mostly depending on the weather!).
    Help with guests: - that is, all the various and exciting visitors who come to stay in the bunkhouse.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    I don't specify what or how much - what's the point? -- you are volunteers after all. I look for people who want to help - and try to find work that helps you as well as me.
    This year I am keen to find help with this new Language School as well, but frankly most of the work relates to the accommodation and outdoor maintenance...er..or indoor if it's raining ! If you can use tools so much the better..but we can all learn, hey?

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English French a little German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Self contained studio flat with kitchen and shower-room. Comfortable for a couple. Wi-fi.
    If that is occupied..twin room in Roundhouse.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a great area for recreation in the Cairngorms National Park - but outdoors - not urban.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I love sharing with travellers from around the world: we eat together so end up discussing everything from French presidential candidates (Go Lasalle!) to Catalonian/Spanish language links to best Scottish comedies. In terms of tasks we try to find work that I need doing that also suits you to learn --so you might get allocated something specific like: limewash maintenance, carpentry, pasture management, fencing ..ie. something that you can make your own,, and see results to take pride in!

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Photos


The Farm


Grown from the rock - Nope!- built it myself. Still building in fact.
Friend Cathy helping me out - unlike the Nog..
The main part of the studio where volunteers stay. Small & cozy with all amenities, I sometimes think I'll take up residence myself!
Words wouldn't add much...
The bunkhouse/language school is on the left - the roundhouse is where we meet for meals.
Nothing more soothing than Highlanders at ease in the place they belong.
The farm looks east towards the dawn (also west!)

Feedback



















Host ref number: 461449731416