Come to the island of St. Croix! Help us prepare vegan meals, expand and improve our sustainable island property, and care for rescued dogs and cats.

Favourited 263 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    24/11/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    413

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a married vegan couple living on the island of St. Croix, sharing our property with many rescued cats and dogs. We are very environmentally-conscious and looking to meet other conscientious vegan animal lovers.

    We are both massage therapists, operating our own business, and pursuing additional opportunities. We are always working on projects around the house, yard, and an additional acre property across the road.

    Our house is situated on the south shore of St. Croix, slightly east of Christiansted, in a quiet rural area, but with easy access to town and several lovely beaches. It features solar hot water and solar electric power, net-metered but providing 100% of electric needs.

    Our primary focus is help with vegan meal preparation, light cleaning and help looking after the dogs and cats. We rescue and care for several animals (current count: 4 dogs, 15 cats). We are renovating old classic Land Rovers to re-purpose for sustainable tours fueled by biodiesel. We have an additional property we've been clearing by hand, removing invasive nuisance vegetation, leaving native trees and bushes, planting more trees and fruit, with the intention of building solar eco-cabins. Recycling is limited on islands, so we've been saving glass bottles to re-purpose as building materials. We have a couple glass bottle garden and/or retaining wall projects in the planning stages and have started one "practice" wall.

    We would love to share our house and island lifestyle with like-minded adventurers, if you'd like to help us pursue some of these projects.

    What we are NOT:

    We are not a working organic farm. We don't have orchards or vegetable gardens (though we may at some point). We can not train you in sustainable organic eco-farming or permaculture techniques. We do have fruit trees, some mature and producing, some still maturing, and have plans to plant more. We also compost, both food waste and dog waste (separately, for non edible gardening and landscaping). There are several working organic farms on island, however, as far as we know they are not currently seeking part-time volunteer help.

    We are not an eco-resort or eco-camp. We do not have staff to train you in sustainable eco-development. Though our properties are eco-projects in progress and many of the volunteer work we need help with is related to maintaining, sustaining and developing these properties in as eco-friendly a manner as available resources allow. Future plans include developing a small vegan-based eco-community, for both volunteers and vacationing guests.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for flexible volunteers to help around the house (painting, yard work, composting, animal care, clean up, pool maintenance, and especially vegan meal preparation). Some specific projects in the works include several painting projects, building garden walls using recycled glass bottles, classic Land Rover restoration and maintenance. Future projects include building sustainable solar Eco-cabins.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, very limited Spanish, some French and some Russian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom and bath, use of shared common areas (kitchen, living room, laundry, decks, patios and pool). There is a sizable deck by the pool for lounging or yoga, a nice area to walk or run without having to negotiate the main road. Two mountain bikes available for use (with caution, our roads are fairly narrow with no shoulder, and we drive on the left). Bus to town comes approximately every 90 minutes on the main road (approximately one block away).

    Room and board is included, with shared cooking and clean-up, unless preparing vegan meals is mutually agreed upon as part of volunteer hours. We only stock cruelty-free foods, no products of animal exploitation (with the exception of occasional tuna, as we transition the cats to vegan diets). We can accommodate gluten free and other specialty diets, as long as it doesn't include meat and/or dairy.

    No smoking on or around the premises.

    Minimum stay 4 weeks.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Great beaches, snorkeling, swimming, sailing, kayaking, paddle board and other water activities available on island.

    We cannot provide full time transportation, but we will pick up WorkAwayers from the airport and, when available, we can help show you around. Bicycles can be used for nearby transportation and the bus comes approximately every 90 minutes on the main road (approximately one block away), on weekdays only at this time. This will get you quickly to town (Christiansted) and back again, not quite as quickly.

    Transportation further than Christiansted requires a little more planning and effort. There are bus routes that cross the island and dollar (or 2 dollar) taxi buses between Christiansted and Frederiksted. However, this is not express transport. No public transportation will take you to the rainforest in the Northwest of the island.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Visiting volunteers will learn about tropical plants, fruits trees and herbs, as well as maintaining an environmentally friendly lifestyle. We love to share island activities such as hiking, kayaking, sailing and snorkeling with our guests as often as time permits.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Katya and Kate painting the East arbor
Outdoor dining
Pool
Front Porch mural
Courtyard
Your room
Front Entry







Host ref number: 456751849934