Looking for help with our Dragon Fruit Farm in Hawaii, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 494 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Updated 4/28:
    We have completed interviews and are in the process of sending offers to several candidates. We're not longer scheduling interviews at this time for placement now through end of September.



    We are a small family dragon fruit and bee farm on the big island of Hawaii. We are located at 2,800 ft on the side of Mauna Loa in the Ohia forest near the very southern tip of the island. Our small community is far from city life as we are 50 miles (1 hour) South of Kona and about 70 miles from Hilo, the two larger cities on BI. Ocean View is a small town, it has 3 gas stations, 2 grocery stores, a couple little restaurants, a vet and an Ace Hardware. We are 30 minutes from the nearest beach, either north or south. We are in the middle of no where, in the middle of the ocean. If youre looking for a peaceful and lovely place to live and work, this is it.

    During your stay you will learn about organic farming, bee keeping, building projects and maintaining farm equipment. We complete tasks for about 5 hours a day, five days a week with 2 days off. We require a minimum of a 2 month stay with priority given to interns looking for long term placement.

    You'll have a private room in our home and a shared bath. We'll food, a clean room, clean water, intern training and a car for occasional personal use. We provide food for 3 meals a day and usually cook dinner 5 nights a week for a family style meal for ourselves and our interns.

    If your initial email is addressed as: "Aloha Kevin and Esther" we'll know you've read our profile are not just sending out email blasts to dozens of hosts to see what sticks. By addressing your email this way you'll have a much better chance of receiving a personalized response.

    Mahalo!

    Kevin and Esther

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Interns will be mentored on how to farm, home repair, auto repair, gardening, working with our bees, small business and entrepreneurship.

    After 2 weeks interning at the farm we'll have an evaluation to ensure that the arrangement is working for both parties.

  • Help

    Help

    We raise Dragon Fruit, citrus and bees. The help is standard farm tasks; fertilizing, pruning, harvesting and processing, adding soil to the bases of the cactus, mulching, repairing things, etc. Dragon Fruit is a cactus and it has thorns...lots of them! The farm is 3 acres and on a slope and the ground is rocky lava, so good work boots are needed. We grow organically and use only bee friendly protocols. Helping with the bees is optional.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Singles will have a private room in the main house with a shared bath will be provided. Couples will most likely be in the guest house/ohana. WIFI is available. Our property has a fantastic view of the ocean and our fields. The private room in the main house is comfortable, clean and you'll have access to the kitchen, a shared bath (with possible guests and/or other interns) and living space in our home. We usually cook dinner for my guests and/or interns 5-6 nights a week. All food and meals at my home and farm are completely gluten free.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We typically go to yoga a couple of times a week and you're welcome to join us. We eat healthy, organically grown food. We grow a variety of fruits and vegetables for personal consumption. We try and plan an excursion at least once a month.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 444695312471