Help with everyday tasks and maintenance and experience life in a tiny village, Välijoki, Finland



Favourited 122 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

  • Description


    We are a family of two adults. I have a small business producing wild herb and berry products and my husband works at home most of the times. We are growing part of our food in the garden, pick up berries, mushrooms etc.

    Our house is situated with in tiny little village, but taking a bicycle you can reach a place of your own in nearby forests and also beautiful paddles are near by. Closest public transportation 15 km (Taavetti, Luumäki).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Charity work

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer a possibility to live with us during your stay and learn our way of living. We can't offer any luxury, but a simple way of living.
    We have a summer cabin (see lakeside pic) which we spend some time during the summer months. You would be welcome to join us to the cottage also sometimes. There you can experience a part of thousand lakes of Finland. At the cottage life is even more simple compared to home and very limited electricity. At the cottage the tasks are pretty much the same, chopping firewood, heating sauna every day etc. It is situated by the lake so swimming is part of the daily routines and also fishing is possible. You also walk or row a boat around the island.
    We look forward to exchange knowledge and share our skills as well as learn from workawayers.

    One more thing, we have hosted individuals, friends and couples and we feel people traveling alone are usually more open to new experiences and learning other ways of living. We prefer individual volunteers for this reason. We have hosted several years now and during this time we have learned lots about hosting as well. We have many good memories and friendship with our workawayers :)

  • Help


    Most of the tasks are outdoor-related. We try to select suitable tasks for everyone and also according to the weather. A big projects every summer is making firewood and picking up wild herbs and berries for wintertime. Also some gardening. Other tasks are general maintenance, lawn moving, cooking, heating sauna and hot water etc.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Finnish, swedish, english

  • Accommodation


    In another building there is one room with single bed and bunk bed and private dry toilet (pic). In case of overlapping workawayers, there is also a small room (pic) for some nights stay, but with no indoor toilet. We can not promise own rooms all the times.
    We use our summer kitchen whole summer season, preparing meals, eating and relaxing. There is gas stove, refrigerator etc.
    We don't have a shower in our farm, but we heat the sauna every evening to wash up. Hot water is also heated with firewood and requires someone to take care of it daily.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We drive to local towns when needed, couple of times a week usually. In Savitaipale there is beautiful lake Kuolimo and very nice beach and in the town center there are some sights to be seen and experienced. Closer to us there is a unique swimming place also, worth seeing. In Savitaipale there is a gym, pilates, tennis etc.

    This is our sixth season volunteers staying with us and we are looking forward meeting new people, learning new cultures and sharing our knowledge and skills.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 436733614291