Organic farming and community living in the beautiful countryside of Kampot, Cambodia

updated
Country

Cambodia

Favourited 532 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    69  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/12/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    473

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young project that mixes organic / permaculture farming with community living. In our place, we grow together by sharing knowledge and experience with each other. We respect nature and all living beings, and are on our way to a self-sufficient lifestyle. You are welcome to join us in this beautiful adventure by volunteering with us!

    The owners and creators of this place - Denis and Singyi, a belgian-khmer couple - went back to Belgium for several months to support the project financially. Therefore it is now Sinya (the sister) who is in charge of the place, with the help of her parents and two long-term volunteers Julie and Philippe. But the ones who truly make this place alive are YOU - the volunteers! Ever since we started to host people in March 2018 the dynamic of the project has changed a lot, and we love to see what we can achieve when people from all over the world come together and share their knowledge/skills.

    In our farm we produce organic vegetables, mushrooms and fruits but we aren't self-sufficient in food yet, so we want to develop our gardening skills to get there as soon as possible. We are also looking forward to create derived natural products and expand our mushrooms production in order to sell them in our shop and in town. During the past few months we have built three earth houses - the last one is almost finished - and a cob oven. We also have composting toilets and an ecobrick station to reduce our waste. As for leisure time, we have an ecological swimming pool, a fire pit, games (pétanque, table tennis, foosball...), bikes, books and hammocks to nap in. Finally, the parents recently opened a shop at the entrance of the farm in which you will find the bare necessities as well as snacks and drinks.

    By staying with us, volunteers may experience the farm work (mulching, watering, planting, harvesting, weeding, etc.), natural building techniques (for those who are not afraid of physical work), English-teaching (volunteers give lesson for about 30-45 min every afternoon to the children of the village - can include games, songs or any other interactive activity), animal care (we have 5 dogs, 4 cats and 8 chickens) and cooking activities. People may also enjoy artistic activities - mostly during their free time unless they have a special project they want to create.

    Please consider that in volunteering with us you will be joining a community, which means that the 'work' won't end on the field. Taking care of the household, the tools and the animals, respecting the timetable and helping each other all day long are essential for all of us to enjoy our time here and live happily together. Furthermore, we expect every one to consume as mindfully as possible - whether it's food, water, washing products or plastic containers. If you're not willing to actively participate in this, it's ok, there are plenty of other projects you can join. We want to make sure that we gather people who have the same mindset and ecological values.

    Please read carefully the "accommodation" part so we are clear about how we will evolve together, as well as the "transport" one.

    Have a beautiful day!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    Our biggest need concerns the work in the garden, mostly by helping to weed/mulch, to plant, to water the vegetables / fruit trees and to harvest once things will grow. We will be pleased to share our permaculture vision and knowledge with our helpers. We are also looking for people who are not afraid of physical work to help us in natural building activities. And those who have an artistic soul may help us decorate the place by painting or doing all kinds of art-crafts.

    We expect volunteers to help 4/5 hours per day, 5 days a week. In exchange, they will receive 3 meals a day (vegetarian/vegan) and free accommodation.

    SHORT TERM - We ask for a minimum stay of 2 weeks, that can be extended longer after discussion depending on how you feel with us and how we feel with you (please tell us if you be interested and available to stay longer so we can keep you a spot in the calendar).
    LONG TERM - We are also looking for people with solid experience in the following areas to help us on the mid/long term: English teaching, natural building, mushrooms growing or beekeeping. Minimum commitment of 2 months, extra advantages (visa extension fee offered, private room, team-leader position, ...) - if you are interested and have any question, feel free to ask!

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers will live and work with a Khmer woman (Sinya) and a group of volunteers from all around the world (can be up to ~10). They might also interact with her parents, daughter and nephew - even though they don't speak English - as well as kids from the village during the English classes. We still do our best to share the Khmer culture and encourage volunteers to explore the area in their free time to get a feel of the local life. We hosted a few Cambodian volunteers and want to have more in the future to develop the interaction between locals and foreigners.

    Other than that, volunteers will have the opportunity to learn about gardening / permaculture, growing mushrooms, building, cooking and many other things depending on other people present at the same time.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Khmer, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers will sleep in a dormitory, inside our home (see the big house in the picture). All beds are protected by a mosquito net and we provide a pillow, bed sheets and a blanket.

    Here's an idea of the daily schedule:
    - 6am to 6:30am: wake-up, prepare breakfast
    - 6:30am: breakfast (coffee/tea, peanuts, fruits from our farm)
    - 7am to 10am: work (various activities)
    - 12am: lunch
    - 3pm to 5pm: work (various activities / teaching English)
    - 7pm: dinner

    We also organize different kinds of activities on a weekly basis:
    - Monday: deep cleaning
    - Wednesday: Khmer cooking
    - Friday: preparing tofu
    - Saturday: feedback session + sharing circle
    - Sunday: day off!

    We don't have Wi-Fi on the farm but we can occasionally share our hot-spot when you need it. Or you can buy a SIM card and some data for a few dollars in town (we recommend SMART or SEATEL).

    Please note that alcohol and drugs are not welcome on our farm, as we want it to be a space where people can distance themselves from any addiction and get a healthier lifestyle. Smoking tobacco is tolerated as long as it's done outside of the house(s) where it doesn't disturb anybody.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We welcome new volunteers every Monday and ask our usual tuk-tuk driver to pick everybody at the durian roundabout in Kampot at 2pm - the price for the ride is 13 dollars, shared between the number of volunteers coming that day. If you travel by your own means, we will send you the exact location on Google Maps.

    On the day off, we can arrange a tuk-tuk for the volunteers who want to go to Kampot, Kep, or the local sight seeings (secret lake, pepper farm, etc.). We also have an automatic motorbike (only for people with experience) and 2 bicycles available for rent.

    Not much more to say other than wishing you a great travel! Thank you for staying until the very last word of this page and please contact us if you have any question ;)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Approximately 4 hours/day, 5days a week

The main house
Weeding the garden
Digging earth to build a cob house
Building time
Building the bamboo structure of the cob house
Collecting grass clippings
Sinya and her mushrooms
Painting signs for the garden
The main house and the first cob bungalow















































Host ref number: 412288489811