Come and join this Perfect location if you are interested in visiting Hakone!

updated
Country

Japan

Favourited 97 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/03/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    529

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 3, Ken, 36yrs, Mia, 33yrs, and a baby Fumi who was born in 2018 July. Ken and I traveled around the world for 2 years since 2013 till 2015. We used Workaway as volunteers during the trip and now I would love to get some help from you while exchanging culture.

    Ken is a writer.
    Mia is a cook.

    -Our situation
    We live in a house with a yard. The maintenance of the house and the yard was a part of my house chores. However since I have a baby, I cannot put my time into those tasks anymore. Ken will be moving to another place a little earlier than Fumi and I, since we will all move out in July.

    -Length of your stay
    Not more than two nights. I will make sure that you have time to explore the town.
    If you are staying for two nights, I expect you to work 5 hours in total. You can work for 5 hours on one day and have the next day completely free with a bed and food. Or you can split the hours into two days as well.
    If you would like to stay here only for one night, 3 hours of help is expected. This also helps me.

    This might be too short for a Workawayer, but if your interest is to visit Hakone and experience hot spring, this might not be a bad idea as the accommodations around here is quite expensive especially if you look for a place with a private hot spring that looks something like what we have in the house.

    Here is our calendar that is open for you.

    2019 March: full
    2019 April: full
    2019 May: basically closed but ask me

    PLEASE NOTE
    -Please don't use any perfume or deodorant. I am sorry but I somehow get sick.
    -Our baby makes noise daytime and hopefully only once during night.
    -We would like you to stay not laud after 7pm as the baby tries to sleep.
    -The baby starts her day at 4:30... I am sorry to be noisy early in the morning.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Where we locate is popular with many tourists worldwide. It is called Gora in Hakone, three hours from Tokyo by trains and famous for hot springs. Easy to access from Tokyo but surrounded by beautiful nature.

    We have natural hot spa water coming into the bathtub! We will make sure that you get to experience that at least once. There are many places that offer hot spring bath in Hakone. (There is a regular shower for daily uses.)

    I will make sure that you eat full. Plus you will understand the basic idea of what the Japanese food is by the time you leave here. It is my passion to share our food culture.

  • Help

    Help

    The tasks don’t require skills. Let’s talk which one of these below you like to help.

    -trimming trees with a tool that is easy to use
    -weeding
    -I have two small plants that I have been wanting to dig out to take a root
    -cleaning roof from inside the house using ladders
    -mopping the floor
    -cleaning windows
    -chopping woods( this is a hard task so I can reduce the time of help )

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Japanese, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A room with two single beds with a shared bathroom next to it.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It's Gora station(強羅). Come to Odawara station(小田原) first then take another train called Hakone Tozan Testudo (箱根登山鉄道)for 15 minutes. Get off at Hakone Yumoto(箱根湯本). Then take another train for Gora for 40 minutes from there. Walk for 15 minutes from Gora station to the house.

    If you are using JR Rail pass, you use JR from Tokyo area to Odawara, but from Odawara up to Gora, it will be private company owned train.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day, 5 days/week





Host ref number: 394815671984