Come and enjoy the views and the power of the mountains and Snowdon, the sea, and a river running in the edge of the land in Nebo, United Kingdom

Favourited 30 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    22/05/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

Contact Register
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! I recently moved to this glorious part of North Wales and renovated a cottage as my home and a barn as a holiday cottage. I love the views and the power of the mountains and Snowdon, the sea, and have a river running in the edge of the land. I host volunteers and paying guests, so you are assured of a very warm welcome as I love having people here and the place has a magic which I want to share. I started life as a stage manager, then a management consultant and life coach, ran my own social enterprise, The Pierian Centre, in Bristol, and am now working up this new business of holidays and retreats with the wild life haven and pond developing on some of the two acres of land. The house is warm and comfy and we have a lot of fun and good conversations round the large kitchen table. I hope to give a really good experience to all who visit and stay here. I also ensure time off to explore the stunning local scenery and history which is abundant here.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    Now looking for help to get the wild life haven, pond and landscape into shape. Also to help with the holiday cottage and general maintenance, keeping the place clean and tidy and some art work carving and building things. So a lot of variety going on here ! I realise that I simply cannot do it all on my own and believe that there is a lot to be gained on both sides from these exchanges.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The place offers one of the most beautiful places in the UK as a location. Snowdonia is on the doorstep, literally a 15 minute walk to a lake which is in the National Park. The area is rich with history, castles, old forts, and most people here are welsh speaking with as tong sense of their history and culture. I am a social entrepreneur and have had an interesting portfolio career, and am a life coach, happy for that skill to be part of what I offer when it is useful to anyone. So people often use me as a sounding board for next steps in life, and to explore options in life. LLys Ifor has a magic, is really beautiful and the community here are really lovely and welcoming.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    A bit of french and learning welsh

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a single room, downstairs and a twin room and a double room upstairs, so can accommodate a variety of needs, singles, couple, friends. I prefer a maximum of two people at a time, but would consider three friends from time to time. There are two bathrooms downstairs to share for guests, and the place is warm and comfy. I tend to cook for everyone in the evenings, as that is my creative time, and tea and coffee are on free flow all day. Breakfast and lunch are sorted day by day depending on schedules and the weather. I can do any diet as long as people are clear with their needs. I prefer a full board exchange for a good number of hours a week, but never more than 25 and always at least two days 'off' a week or more if you want to do a trip to Bardsey Island or Ireland!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a local bus service, limited times but it is possible to plan round them reasonably well. You can get to Snowdon, walk up her and back down and get home in a day if you take the early bus. There are also local taxis which need booking if you want an evening out. We have a car park with an electric charge point for those with electric cars and can accommodate six cars. It is quite rural but I don't have a car and manage to do the things I want to. Nearest towns are Caernarfon and Porthmadog both with shops and cafes. Further afield is Llyn Peninsula and Anglesey and Bangor has a large arts centre with a cinema. I have no house rules except to live with respect for each other and be clear about needs. And to clean up as we go along, especially the bathrooms!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 385453623225