Help us with some tasks around our old farmhouse complex near Civray, France

Country

France

Favourited 50 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    17/09/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    169

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Stevie 57 & Yvie 59. We are both semi retired from the rat race, been there done that , got the Tee shirt, worked hard and played hard in our early days, loved looking smart, loved clubs and bars, soulful music and now after lots of travelling we are now enjoying rural life in a beautiful sunny part of France. we both enjoy music, history and art, cooking and the good life.
    On going renovation of our farmhouse with barns and stables for the best part of 5 years dated 1789 and built from reconstructed stone of a ancient 13th Century abbey close by, the project is nearing completion. Its a large stone property with a private courtyard, the garden slopes down to the river Clan with rolling countryside surrounded by sunflowers. Its located in a small hamlet very close to the market towns of Civray and Confolens in the Vienne region of the Poitou Charente ( Nouvelle Aquitaine) department of France.

    Our property is semi rural with only 6 other houses in the hamlet but less than 1 kilometre from the main highway ,with a mix of mature and young families, there is a fishing lake a few minutes down the track from or house and lots of marked trail walks close by, its pretty quiet here apart from the odd tractor there is a donkey and horse in the field opposite the house which belong to our French neighbours and a few little doggies running around the hamlet enjoying themselves, they are cute and none intimidating and never enter our property although look like they could do with a good shampoo!

    We also have a house in the Southern region of France next the the Chateau at the top of the village ,its a 25 minute drive to the famous world heritage medieval city of Carcassonne. We often go to do some work and enjoy the surrounding or walk amongst the surrounding vineyards, the beautiful ancient and lively town of Limoux with the river Aude is only 8 minutes away.

    My partner and myself are from East London where we still have a property, previously to moving to France we were living in Cyprus where we had 2 shops, we love to travel and explore and would like to do North Africa this year and go back to Israel again which we love so much.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Help

    Help

    Clearing barns, gardening and general maintenance, some carrying may be involved, painting, trips with me in the van to the DIY store and supermarket etc. Yvie my partner likes to do a bit of furniture restoration and painting, you are welcome to help.

    We also have a small cottage close by and will need help clearing and landscaping the garden and restoring it to its once former glory, it has lots of beautiful shrubs and trees that need attention, also some decoration or basic construction help may be required.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Possibly learn a bit of the French language and the way of life, or even the English way of life!
    My partner loves Brocantes or Vide Greniers (Boot/Flee markets and second hand stores) you will be more than welcome to tag along and you will be treated as a family member. We also like a cultural experience frequently like to drive around the countryside and villages and go for walks looking at the architecture and also love to do a picnic.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and a little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own bedroom with double bed, bathroom and use of living room with UK TV and fantastic views with double aspect if you need personal space. Daily meals will be offered and cold or hot drinks provided. In the evenings at home we often BBQ with a glass of wine or a cold beer and enjoy an outdoor lifestyle. The accommodation is excellent and comfortable and would expect our guests to keep it clean and tidy at all times. Smoking is only permitted outside of any buildings.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In our local village of Mauprevoir is a small supermarket/patisserie and pub (English owner), you can be dropped off in the village or you can Cycle as we have plenty of bikes, 15 minutes away is a small town called Charroux with 3 bars (live music and real ale) ,there is a large lake close by to our place and lots of county walks which are signposted and popular with ramblers.
    Locally there is a:
    zip wire & rope adventure park
    Bungee jumping from the Viaduct
    Canoeing
    Painting
    Cinema
    Outdoor swimming pool
    Fishing
    Valley of the monkeys
    Futurescope (Poitiers)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

One Guest bedroom
Decking out back.
BBQ at house



Host ref number: 382349131324