Let's restore an old house and learn to use cob and wood in Bulzestii de Sus, Romania

Country

Romania

updated  

Favourited 220 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    27  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! My name is Andrei, I am 35 years old and I recently moved in the Carpathian mountains , where I bought an old traditional house and some land. Before this I have worked as a photographer and retoucher and in the last 6 years I have been passionate about natural building, living free and healthy, meeting new people and exchanging culture and experiences. I am interested in arts and meditation, conceptual and alternative thinking, permaculture, natural building, dyi projects, human experience and philosophy. The old house I bought needs restoration and the land needs cleaning , planting, organising. There are a lot of creative projects ongoing, like : children playground, a pond, a magical garden, a grapevine pergola, rock paths, a tree summer shower, a tree eco toilet:) and others. There is a beautiful view from the tent ,where up to three people can stay until November. Looking forward to meeting new people, making new friends and working together to create a little story-like house and land.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Visit the mountains, be one with nature, exchange experiences and filosophy, stay in an environment with clean air, clean mountain water, breathtaking scenery, warm welcoming neighbours. Food cooked on wood stove or outdoors, mountain trails, mountain climbing, mountain biking and winter sports in the cold season. Learn to work with natural materials, restaurate old wooden house, rock building, stove building, gathering and cutting firewood. Learn about Romania and visit the natural beauty of it's mountains and meet beautiful people.

  • Help

    Help

    The last project for this year is a construction project. Building another plarform like the one in the images, that will host a new accomodation.
    This construction implies: fixing poles un their place, bringing stone for stabilisation and creating the wooden frame.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Romanian: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Danish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is an old summer kitchen I converted in a clean living space for 2 people, about 15 sq meters. It has wood heating. The water and bath are in a separate building also heated with wood or electricity.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I usually do not accept a stay that is less than a week and the maximum is usually 2 to 3 weeks, but that we can agree on sight, depending on compatibility and chemistry.
    It is the countryside! All beautiful nature. We work and we have fun. I have a car and can pick you up from the nearest town , called Brad, 30km away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is wi-fi but sometimes , during storms , it may stop, altogether with the electricity. Usually is fixed in few hours .

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Yess, there is a space designed for that where you can have both electricity and water.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.9)

















Host ref number: 399935139499

Give the gift of Workaway
read more

Find your perfect host