Help on a small mixed farm in Rural southeastern Manitoba, Canada

Favourited 17 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register


  • Description


    We run a small mixed farm in rural southeastern Manitoba, and have many different animals including sheep, cattle, horses, chickens, and pigs. Our farm is located on a spacious 480 acres, most of which is pasture and bush. We live in a very rural community but have good neighbors and close family nearby. We raise all our own food including milk, eggs, meat, vegetables, flour, and eat as organically as possible, making all our own bread, yogurt, cheese, broths from scratch and from our own produce. We also use the wool from our sheep to hand-make wool duvets which we sell through an Etsy shop. We are a family of four (Our two sons are ages 7 and 9) and we speak French as well as English. We live a busy and fulfilling lifestyle and we are looking for help during our busy spring season. As well as taking care of our own animals, Leah also teaches riding lessons with our horses and Guy works at the family turkey farm a couple of miles away.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Help


    We would like help during lambing season in May and June. The perfect volunteer will be responsible and actively interested in animal care. They will be involved in regular chores including milking our two East Friesian milking sheep, collecting eggs, feeding and checking the animals and most importantly helping with lambing. During lambing time we have 5-10 ewes lambing every day and care and supervision in the lambing barn is integral as well as caring and observing the ewe and her lambs first several days of life. No experience is necessary; we can train a volunteer, but keen interest is important.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation


    We have a guest cabin with electricity for one volunteer to stay in. We have outdoor shower set up and also a nearby outhouse. We eat regular meals together as a family in our house. Unfortunately we do no welcome outside pets, as we have livestock guardian dogs with our sheep.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get to enter into our family and learn a lot about farming, animal care, and a healthy sustainable lifestyle. You will get to enjoy our homemade and delicious healthy food at every meal. If interested, you could also have opportunity to learn some horsemanship skills and/or traditional food preparation. (We loosely follow a Weston Price diet and eat lots of cultured foods, sourdough, and good quality animal fats) We live in a spacious natural setting and you will get to enjoy nature and do some hiking, canoeing, fishing, bird watching if that interests you.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 381376354953