Assist with an organic dairy, B&B - agro tourism on the west coast of Denmark

Favourited 151 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity




  • Description


    We are Inga and Jens Peter, we run an organic dairy farm and Agro turism/B&B on the westcoast of Denmark (jutland) close to a cozy little city called Lemvig.

    We have just arond 160 cows that we milk, then we have calves, pigs, hens, bunnies, peacocks, horses, a dog and lots of outdoor cats, and 2 indoor cats.

    We milk 2 times a day, early in the morning and once in the evening. year round.

    In summer we let the cows in and out every day with help from our border collie dog "Sille" and the atv. We have sesonal calving, so in May-July all or most of our calving happens, in those months we tjek on them every hour/2 hour, from May to September is also your high season with the Agro turism/B&B, and the farm is pretty busy in this time. We often have piglets in summer too.
    lots of garden work in this time too, picking berries, plums, making juice and jams.

    In fall there is a lot of havesting, driving tractor and machinery. Toasting horse beans.
    picking apples, juice and jams

    Winter, milking cows and all the other usual farm rutines.
    prune trees, baking

    Spring, lot of field work, fencing, getting the seeds in the ground
    Veggie garden

    We are also likely to have a project going on, like expanding the chicken house, expanding our pond, planting trees.
    Other than that your daughter have a little forrest that is a well visited place for the neighbors, we help her take care of while she is traveling, cutting down trees, mowing the lawn, picking apples, groving hops, that we intend to brew beer with

    we have 5 adult "kids" 37, 31, 29, 26 and 25, all of them likes to travel and likes to meet other cultures, they visit often, our grandchildren as well. Always lots of life on the farm.

    it will be possible ride horses as well, if you have riding experience or if our daughter is home she can teach you.

    We are very openminded people, and like to get to know new people

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help


    Can be a variation of work, depening on what you like to do too
    most of the things you will be doing with us, but there's fredom to do them by yourself too

    milking cows, we do it 2 times a day
    fence work
    - horse fence
    - cow fence
    - pig fence
    taking care of animals
    - letting horses in and out
    - mucking out stables
    - feeding hens, peacocks, calves, pigs, cats, dog,
    - grooming horses
    - moving calves and cows
    driving tractor
    clearning in the house, and turist apartments
    garden work
    - weeding
    - planting
    - taking care of vegies
    - picking strawberries, rasberries, apples, pears
    - taking care of greenhouse
    - tomatoes, cucumbers, grapes, figs
    help with turist

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Danish

  • Accommodation


    Room in the main house, sharing bathroom/toilet, living room and kitchen
    being a part of the family, all meals are served in the house too, we eat most meals together

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    3,5 km to the sea
    7,7 km to Lemvig, cosy little port town, with water activities as SUP-boarding
    In Thorsminde it's possible to wind and kite-surfe
    Thyborøn is an interesting fishermens city
    a few hours from Thy national park
    2 hours from Aarhus
    1,4 hour from LegoLand in Billund

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


My Photo Album

From the sea
our pigs, old danish race
the horses
From our trip to New Zealand in 2004


Host ref number: 373227781517