Help Florence and Gabriel Empower youth 16 to 35/years widows and elderly Care in Mfangano, Kenya

Country

Kenya

Favourited 112 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    110

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Florence and my husband is Gabriel. We are on a mission to change the lives of our young people from 16 to 35 years by making healthy food accessible through permaculture.

    I believe in the power of the community and nature. I am a female entrepreneur and it has been a struggle to raise the necessary funding to start something that can really benefit our community. I know what it feels like to eat clean food and it has changed my life in more ways than imaginable.

    Though we run many projects, our main focus at this time is sustainable agriculture and empowering our community through sharing our skills. We wish to give training and help supply farm gear to the community.

    We have a food forest and would like to start building keyhole garden. Banana circle and two fish ponds. We are also working on building an education centre, a place that can host training a seminars and be a space for the young kids ( baby sitter) or a place to nature young kids while their mothers are doing permarculture training.

    By contributing to our ideas you are creating a change that starts with you and expands around the world.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    While on exchange, volunteers can benefit from a multitude of unique life experiences which they might not have had in their native countries. To put it simply, the exchange is eternally awesome! Here are our top five reasons why going on exchange with Florence nand Gabriel is a worthwhile life experience:

    1) Experience a new culture
    2) Learn a new language
    3) Make friends from all around the world
    4) Get a ‘second family’
    5) Personal development

  • Help

    Help

    Permaculture:
    We are always looking for volunteers who can help us with permaculture. We have a big property and there is always agricultural work to be done. Helping us grow our food forest, working in the field, planting and watering crops in our keyhole and banana circle garden and fish ponds. If getting your hands dirty is for you, come and join our project!

    Construction:
    At present we have a building that we wish to turn into an education centre, but it needs lots of refurbishing. Rebuilding certain walls, putting in windows and putting a roof on the building. We are also looking to build fish ponds after that. So if you are able to assist us in construction, we would love to host you!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Shwahili

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers stay in a separate, very comfortable, volunteer house with a private compost toilet and shower room for their convenience.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    How you choose to travel is important, but who you choose to volunteer with can define your experience. You can volunteer solo, and do it all on your own terms (most of our volunteers do). Or you can share the experience with your family, bring your significant other, or organize a group trip. Whether it’s just you and a backpack or you’re bringing your friends along, you'll be working alongside a community that values your support while making memories that will stay with you for a lifetime.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

PLAN USING PERMACULTURE
Some orphans and my kids
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.0)











Host ref number: 364274667616