Come and help us on our farm in Merleac, France

Country

France

Favourited 87 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    09/09/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    128

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
    Super Host
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi we are Debbie and Paula, sisters from the UK, we are both in our 50's, we moved to Brittany France 2 years ago. We are between Uzel and Corley in department 22.

    We are lucky enough to live in our own little bit of paradise in an amazing part of Brittany, in a 400 year old Manor house which we are still renovating, with 12 acres of land. We have 3 horses, 10 sheep and 16 lambs that are so much fun, 2 goats, 9 rescue chickens and 8 other chicken, 5 we hatched ourselves, 3 dogs and a cat so an animal lover would be great. All the animals are free range and very happy. We are trying to be self sufficient here, we now have our own meat and would like to have our own vegetables, we live as sustainable as possible. Our animals are very important to us and we spend our lives caring for them.

    So lucky to have met some wonderful volunteers from all over the world, amazing people and such fun to have around.

    This summer we need help with rebuilding a side of the sheep shed with stone and wood. Also some sheep fencing needs moving, and we always need help with weed control and some small trees taken down

    We love our life here and spend a lot of time looking after all our animals, and far too much time watching and being amused by them all. It is very pretty scenery around here, and there are a lot a lakes fairly close. We love good food, good conversation and have good sense of humors. We would love to practice our French and help someone with their English.

    Good home cooked food and comfortable accommodation to live as part of the family. We are a mile from the nearest village and 10- 15 minutes from the nearest bigger town, we are not isolated but it is very quiet –apart from us!! We do have neighbors and we speak a very little French.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Language practice

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with rebuilding a side of the sheep shed, some sheep fencing put up and moved. Chopping small trees and branches with a chainsaw, splitting and chopping wood. The house needs some re pointing . We do have some internal work, insulating a room and some holes in the walls to fill. Also a small room needs painting in lime. Some really old doors and windows need repairing.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We would love to help someone learn English and they could help us with our French. We have both had very good life experiences. You could learn how to look after a range of animals and learn to ride horses. We like to have fun. And take in all the wonderful scenery around here, or spend time with us watching all the animals. We love cooking and eating so meal times are important to us, we would love it if you wanted to learn how to cook or show us your way of cooking. Learning other cultures interests us and we have met some amazing volunteers over the last year.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and a very little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Large double bedroom with very comfortable double bed, large single room with a comfortable single bed, shared toilet and shared bathroom. Use of the kitchen if needed. WiFi available and English freeview TV. We cook good hearty meals every lunchtime and evenings and love sitting around the table talking or playing cards or games after meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a small bar and a bus stop about a kilometer away and another about 15 minuets away. We usually go to a large town for shopping every week. We don't go out much as we don't like to leave our animals, we are smokers (but we don't smoke upstairs) We are close to some lovely lakes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album












Host ref number: 357683553574