Join our family and horses in the Ardennes, Belgium and help other children having a wonderful stay or class !

updated

Favourited 782 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    51  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    23/01/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    692

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register

2018

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We will accept volunteers - with horse experience - as from Mid April 2018.


    We live at a farm where we propose the following services to our customers :
    a post-graduate training "how to become a horse-coach", eq. how to coach people with the help of horses, horse coaching (coaching of people with the help of the horses), different well-being activities with or without horses, weekly yoga classes, massage classes, yoga&massage&horse-summer camps, a massage practice with therapeutic massages, shiatsu and reflexology.

    We are a family of 5, our eldest son is 19,the one in the middle is 14 and our smallest one is a daughter of 11. We love animals, have 2 dogs and 3 cats living in the house and outside we have 8 horses 🐴 and chickens.

    We are a busy family. We like to enjoy life and work hard. We respect all life whether it's human or not.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for work-a-wayers all year round, the help changes from season to season.

    In general :

    The daily tasks are :
    cleaning the horse paddocks and stables
    feeding and providing water to all the animals
    cleaning the small animal housing (monthly routine)
    help inside the house or inside the barn
    helping to clean the holiday home occasionaly

    on different occasions :
    helping with general maintenance
    helping out during our different weekends and classes.

    in spring & summer : gardening

    For end April - Begin May 2018
    we are looking for a couple or two friends who are willing to do the regular duties as well as cook for the kids


    Everything depends on your capabilities :)

    If you have good experience with horses, a soft but steady hand, you can help train them (on the ground, riding,.....), we do not do any competition with them, we just want balanced horses physically and emotionally because they are our co-coaches when we coach people.

    We realised the last year we do need people who have some experiences with horses or a big open heart to new experiences with animals.


    (During the SUMMER MONTHS this may also be help with the kids on camp (maximum 12 kids), entertaining a small group whilst we do another activity (like a horse coach session), helping out with the animals (cleaning the paddocks, nourishing the horses and chickens,….) and some help with the garden, before and after the season it's more general maintenance, animal care, gardening, and if you're a good rider you can ride our horses.
    If you're a talent in the kitchen, I may let you make supper whilst doing a crafty activity with the children. *️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️ SUMMER OF 2018 only 1 week of camp at the end of August *️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️

    We can show you some nice walks by foot, bicycle.

    We invite you in our home & family and make you part of it. We prefer volunteers who can operate independently.
    During the year we often only host one person or a couple - during the summer we may have more volunteers the same period.
    Minimum age 20.

    We accept volunteers from 2 up to 4 weeks and longer if we all get along

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Nederlands, Français, English, ein bisschen Deutsch, un poco de Espanol

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll have a room to yourself or with an other volunteer in our farm with a bathroom (you share with others) on the floor below. Our farm is a 160 year old building, everyone has his own room, so yes it's pretty big.
    We also have a holiday flat in the farm for 3 or 4 people which we rent out.

    We can not accept volunteers travelling with their pets (dogs, cats, ...) .

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You are free to join our weekly yoga classes, or join a shiatsu class with the kids during camp.

    Our farm is situated at the North of the Belgian Ardennes, 15 minutes away from the railway station Marloie which will bring you to Bruxelles and the rest of Belgium or to Luxemburg City. You can also use a bike to discover to close by villages & towns such as Durbuy, La Roche en Famenne, Rochefort,...

    We do not always eat vegetarian, but it is possible, we try to eat veggie 2 to 3 times a week. In summer we grow a lot of our veggies our self.

    If you are an occasional smoker and this will not bother the family routine you are welcome, however we do not allow you to smoke inside the house or the barn but do have a place for smoking outside.

    Our kids speak French, Dutch and English

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    What can you learn ?
    languages : Dutch, French,
    macrobiotics
    yoga (do-in and yin yoga)
    gardening

    We speak Dutch/Flamish, French & English.
    We cook all organic, we're flexitarians (eat veggie, meat & fish), we try to cultivate (in the season) our own vegetables
    we are a big family, our kids play music

    ALL Yoga classes (taught in French) are open to all our volunteers ,

    when human-shiatsu classes are on, volunteers can participate as well (french only during class)
    (no participation in one on one shiatsu or yoga therapy or private coaching sessions with clients!)

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 to 5 hours, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

The woods on the other side of the road, yes it goes uphill !
A not so recent picture of our family
The woods behind the house
A friend's daughter with one of our horses
Making a snowman during "spring" camp last year
Kids at summer camp practising yoga
This is me, giving Shiatsu (acupressure massage) to a horse
A nice scene during summer camp last year





































Host ref number: 337112585928