Seeking workaway now! Join our small family in our forest home 10 min from downtown Victoria

Country

Canada

Favourited 126 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/12/2018

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! My name is Elinor. I'm a woman in my mid-30s with a 10-year old daughter, Gaia, living in an old charming home in Victoria, BC, Canada. We live with two other women on a rare sized and beautiful lot of nearly 2 acres. We love nature, playing with our dog, spontaneous dance parties in the kitchen, and hanging out with friends. We are a Queer / Trans friendly home.

    We are just a few minutes walk from some beautiful beaches and a lovely charming village near the University of Victoria. We are on a busline to downtown Victoria and then just out of the city are some of the most beautiful hiking trails in the world. This is a perfect country home in the city :)

    We've really enjoyed the workaway program and people typically find this a very welcoming and laid back home.

    Recently I opened a neurofeedback clinic downtown so I work about 50 hours a week. Also my senior parents are moving to town this week from the US! And my mom needs quite a bit of care.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    We are currently in need of help food shopping, cooking, cleaning and some child/dog care. The other half of the time would be caring for an elderly woman, my mother, who has some dimentia and epilepsy. Really this would just provide some respite hours to my Dad so he can get out of the house. You would simply keep my mom company, cook a bit, and make sure she doesn't wander out of the apartment. Their apartment is right above my clinic so I would always be accessible if things got challenging. It would be good experience for anyone considering a career in mental health or support work. You would stay at our home in Cadboro Bay and I would drive you on occasion to my parents place, where I also work. We will create some set hours for your time with us so things are clear and you can enjoy the many benefits of being in this beautiful town.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can help you with English.

    I happen to study and practice astrology so if that interests you we can have tons of wonderful conversation about the stars and their meaning.

    We live in a perfect location for you to explore beyond our home as well. You'll feel that you are in the beauty of our Canadian Westcoast landscape, yet minutes to town, totally accessible without a car.

    You being a little independent by nature will be good :) But we will love to spend time together as well.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a cute vintage trailer for your stay. Private, set amongst the forest, and so close to amenities. Bathroom in the house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 335993852743