Repair and maintenance at Waimate, South Island, New Zealand.

updated
Country

New Zealand

Favourited 117 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    37  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an Irish couple enjoying life in New Zealand .
    We are renovating our old wonderful house situated on the outskirts of town, our projects include the final stages of converting an Art studio and a garage to workshop for restoration of bicycles and motorbikes. My wife is an Artist, and retired Dress Designer, she loves to spend time in the garden ,I am a cycle mechanic for most of my career and I enjoy mountain biking and living at the foot of the Waimate trail. I also do Karate.
    We have a grown up Daughter living away and enjoy having people to stay ,we enjoy being Workaway hosts and have met some cool people and made some friends.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a beautiful area we have a fantastic mountain bike and walking track opposite our house, bikes may be borrowed for the track or going to town for a coffee and to explore . We play board games sometimes in the evenings or guitar ,jam sessions are fun, the Tv is on for the odd movie and we are Moto GP fans. we will share our skills from bike basics, garden tips, drawing, sewing cooking and restoration.
    Most important we like to laugh and enjoy good company.








    i

  • Help

    Help

    We need help fixing up the shed turning it into a art studio and dorm ,some carpentry ,plumbing and DIY skills are needed .The house is being sanded and painted this year and the garden always has jobs to be done just to keep on top of things, weeding is a constant and vegetable beds need care . Some trees need felling for firewood . Vintage car and motorbike enthusiasts could help with restoration if interested .work clothes and boots will be needed for outside work.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Irish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Family home with Two bedrooms ,one with King size bed , one with two Single beds . Shared bathroom . Non smokers. Help yourself to toast and cereal for breakfast , lunch and evening meal provided on work days ,on days off guests should provide their own meals ,respect our home and your space in it.Ten day stay is the norm we do not take guests for less than seven, Travelers are responsible for their own travel and banking arrangements.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a bike or two to go to town or go mountain biking and two trail bikes,you can see the hill from the house . Art materials to be creative and musical instruments for jam sessions.
    We are situated between Timaru and Oamaru ,and we are just an hours drive from the beautiful lakes.
    To us Waimate is a typical Kiwi small town, 10 min walk from the house with some cool little shops and cafes and lots of charm with an outdoor heated swimming pool ,We like our guests to interact with us we love to hear their stories and not spend all the time in their rooms, .Days off are for us too so get out there and see the sights.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week .

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
























Host ref number: 319548663276