Need some help for a restoration project in La Rioja, Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Neis. I live with my dog Michelle scampering after my two cats in a very small village in La Rioja Alta, near Haro: Herramélluri.

    Well, my friends are also running around. They come and go.

    Near two years ago I started the restoration of an old mill - warehouse and I have travelled these months learning a little to build and often not to succumb between the omnipresent dust of the first steps and my own shadows thanks to successive plagues of illusion and desires and flowers and sometimes, even, traps.

    Sometimes I feel overwhelmed and build something that is useless at all, but it makes me have a fun time.

    The project is at the beginning of its development, but it is perfectly habitable, quite welcoming and creative. You will breathe very good energy.

    I think I will never finish to build this dream and... I`m sure this is the best of all. It means that we are still alive. I think was Cervantes who said "Es mejor el camino que la posada" ("the road is better than the inn").

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My friends say that I am a good host; of those who let each one be as he is.

    We are going to resort to techniques of construction with cob and basic materials and applying a marked artistic imprint and, well, we hope to learn together from all this.

    I share what I am and what I have here and the place gives us the gift of sunsets in fire and wine and... sometimes a handful of friends will create passionate moments. They visit me frequently, and on weekends it is not unusual to find an impromptu party here. (I think) This corner is a bit like a communal meeting vortex.

    We love music and feel alive; usually a litte against the flow. My friends and me are... suddenly we´ve just arrived from the trunk of the sixties. So, they are old hippies, a little musicians, a little poets, and... Not me, of course. I just love my female friends give me rags to get dressed.

    I feel them as good and interesting humans. Survivors.

  • Help

    Help

    I pretend to build two greenhouses using old windows of wooden and glass. Its purpose is not only to grow plants but also to support the bioclimate system of the house.

    Working with a very low cost budget, then whenever possible I am using recycled materials of the place and I try to apply artisanal construction techniques.

    I would be interested in people with experience in carpentry. Any case every help is welcome and I value specially to share experiences.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is in my own home, in a confortable private room for the guests with a large bed and good bathroom and kitchen shared with me, like the rest of the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in the western end of La Rioja, the land of wines.

    The Way to Santiago runs very close; Santo Domingo de La Calzada is just eight km far.

    Two thousand years ago the place was populated by an important Roman settlement on the route to the northen Castilian plateau.

    You will find us in a rural environment in the middle valley of the Rio Tirón, sheltered by the mountains of La Demanda. Herramélluri has barely 100 inhabitants.

    There are communications by public transport to Haro (18km), Logroño (50km), Vitoria (60km) or Bilbao (90km) and also to Burgos, Zaragoza or Madrid through Santo Domingo de La Calzada.

    Railway station in Miranda de Ebro, 20 km far.

    I have no vehicle but I get facilities when necessary.

    I have pets. I live with Michelle and two cats.

    I'm not a bad cook. Healthy, simple and varied food style and flexible to the needs of the guests..

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Me in reds.
A lonely self-talk Chair. The Way.
Herramélluri hides ancient Roman town and route.
Another view of the village, just where we are.
Harvest.
The old mill - warehouse. Velasco.
Contrast.
By Arne and Isa, my lovely first guests.
Michelle and Zapa.
Dawn.
Bi millenial mill wheel and colours by Belu.
Your bed, still undone.
The tower where rebellious neurons tend to climb.
Me, Neis Moneo.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 934938112425