Help us to turn our 17th century mill into a centre for permaculture in a remote valley in the Dordogne, South West France

updated
Country

France

Favourited 177 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/04/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Sylph, .We are in the process of renovating our 17th century mill and are creating a permaculture vegatable garden and are looking to build an irrigation system, using water from a well and stream.
    Our sheep look after the paddocks and we are looking to plant a forest garden.


    We need help in taking care of our organic vegetable garden. Handweeding, watering, cutting grass, feeding plants and deadheading our many roses would be some of the daily activities as well as helping with our gite in the maintenance and with hospitality with our guests when I teach on our courses.

    If you wish to be one of the building stones in creating and maintaining this place you are very welcome to experience our beautiful setting and make use of the studio in your own time when it is not occupied for production or me teaching courses.

    If you want to learn throwing on the potters wheel, you are welcome to join one of our courses. This has to be paid for as it includes, teaching, materials and firing!

    This is a quiet and remote place so suitable for someone who loves being submerged into nature

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our Moulin would suit someone who loves a beautiful environment, full of Art and books, and who loves being in nature. We are away from it all. It is a tranquil place, animated by bird song and many birds nesting around the house and barn, You would be part of a sustainable set up. We fire mainly with wood in winter which is locally sourced and also coppiced from our little woods.
    You can learn about French, German and English culture, a variety of foods and dishes.
    We speak , German and English here and are seeking to become fluent in the French language in due course.
    We have limited Wifi and internet (enough for you to check emails once a day) as we need a Satellite to connect to the outer world but there is international TV and a landline telephone. We have a good selection of DVDs and Vidos. Our place would suit a non smoker who is into the finer and quieter things in life.

  • Help

    Help

    We are renovating a 17th century Mill in a remote valley in the Dordogne in the South West of France. It is a nature reserve and registered bird sanctuary. I am running Pottery and Art courses from here during the summer months, as well as letting part of the house as a gite. We have 4 acres of beautiful gardens, meadows and some woodland, which need maintenance and have 4 sheep who do some of the grass cutting for us.

    You could be helping with weeding and watering our organic vegetable garden or learning to prune one of the many boxes we have as well as pruning roses. Strimming and lawn mowing could be one of your tasks or any of the activities in the house from cleaning and preparing food to painting and decorating, child minding or learning to preserve food and making jams.

    If you are a more skilled individual we would love to welcome people who have gardening experience and are interested in an ecological way of renovating, water conservation and woodland management.
    Computer and facebook, twitter skills are also useful in building a network for us with our little haven and promoting our business.
    French speakers are very welcome and could help with us learning the french language.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German and English and a little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have accommodation in the Grenier, the roof of the Moulin. It is depending on occupancy in the house, either a white twin room with desk, chair and comfy bed or another Grenier - Attic room with a small double tempura bed and a large desk and office chair. A modern bath/ shower room is underneath. Hot water comes from a solar hot water system and we will provide you with organic shampoo and soap as our system can only tolerate biodegradable products.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live a 10 minute drive away from the next small town and train station and can offer you lifts and pick up from there should you wish to branch out.
    There are plenty of shops there and an outdoor swimming pool
    Bergerac and Perigueaux are 30 minutes away by train and Bordeaux 1 hour.
    We have bicycles for your to get about with.
    If you are self contained and motivated and are able to occupy your own time as well as being part of a family set up and enjoy the outdoors, then the Moulin is for you.
    All meals will be prepared together and we require someone who is able to eat most things, as we have a varied healthy diet which includes meat. Some of our vegetables come from our organic vegetable garden.
    This is a non smoking place and we ask visitors to respect this requirement.
    You will have full use of the library as well as barn should you wish to paint or the woodlands for meditation.
    This place would suit someone who is into art, writing, nature conservation and permaculture and is generally active and motivated and has a positive outlook on life.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week










Host ref number: 315371796143