Help at our family store and other community projects in San Miguel de Brasil

  • Favourited 102 times
  • Last activity: 16 Feb 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello there!

    I'm Ivan from a beautiful village called San Miguel de Brasil (South west Ecuador near the city of Machala). The area is a large producer of banana, cacao and other trapical fruits. Close by in the hills are gold mines. I live here with my familie (father, grandmother, brother and sister-in-law).

    In our village is a town square, a church, health center and a school, where you can have classes with the other kids to learn or improve your Spanish and also help with English classes. Also near by is a beautiful clean river, where you can swim or just sit at the shore and relax to clear up your mind.

    Also, in your free time there are really nice places you can visit in the province of El Oro. For example, the scenic colonial village Zaruma (also known in the area for her gold mines) is a really nice place to disconnect for a day or two. Likewise, it´s possible to do a day trip to the amazing petrified forest of Puyango.

    Our family has the general store where the people from town can get everything. We need help with organising (for example your ideas in changing the division), and helping customers. For example, the costumers ask for a product, and you get it from the store and do the payment. Perfect to learn your Spanish! Ofcourse I will be there to help you. This workaway only contains assistence in our store and there will always be another person availble for any questions or help.
    It is also possible to set up a local project if you would like to and have any ideas.

    This is a place where you can be a famous person for a while (there are no other foreigners here)!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Language practice
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The meals are included, A great opportunity to try the local food and specialties!!!
    Sleep for free
    Free Spanish classes with the children in the local school.(opportunity to learn/improve)
    In this village you will be the only outsider.
    You willl learn everything about our culture, daily life, and even more important; our organic products! You will see how we work with cacao!!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need some extra help with organisation, helping costumers and other community projects (helping in school, health center etc.)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own room (closet and double bed) and meals in our family house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The house is just above the store, located on the main Street next to the church and central park.
    Across the street is the school.
    We are close to Machala.
    Village has a beautiful river and nice pool to have a swim.
    My father has a farm with animals, cacao, oranges and more... all organic!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Yes, I Have.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 769822392564

Feedback (6)



Photos

Feedback









Shelter of Animals and Eco-Project in Mompiche
We need help with Webdesign, social media, carpentry and mural painting- ecuador