We live near Plymouth, Devon, on the Tamar river!

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 170 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We will be renovating, decorating, improving the house and garden.
    Lots of building work.
    Propagating plants. Apple picking and preserving.
    Pruning, planting, weeding, composting. Farming
    We will be meeting and greeting customers and looking after them.
    If you are interested in coming to volunteer here, you will be very welcome. It's so beautiful, and you might even see salmon in te river.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural and social exchange:
    Our Workaways can learn about English culture, eat traditional cuisine as well as practice their English. We sit together for 3 meals a day (as well as a tea break), where we love to hear your travel stories and interests. We rotate cooking duties and encourage you to share the food of your home with all of us!

    There are many opportunities to learn here! They include:
    -General handy work around the property
    -Building renovation
    -Painting, decorating
    -Building conservation
    -Gardening
    -Propagation

  • Help

    Help

    Tasks can include:
    - maintaining the garden
    - general handy work around the property.
    - painting, decorating
    - building conservation
    - gardening
    - propagation
    - indoor help such as washing, ironing, cleaning the house, cooking

    No experience is necessary as training is given on the job.
    On average we do Monday-Friday for about 5 hours per day. Depending on the time of year and the tasks that need to be done.
    We are looking for volunteers who will stay for one month or more, 6 weeks is ideal.
    Most of the time we will have a placement available for one helper. We don't usually have places for couples or groups except under special circumstances.
    We normally have four to six helpers at the same time.
    We do need long-term help. Especially with computer and administration.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have rooms in the house.
    You might have to share a room.
    All meals are included. We eat fish, but we don't eat meat.
    We can cater for vegetarians and vegans
    We have a friendly outgoing community with lots of laughter and food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many local walks. Especially along the coast, which is very beautiful.
    There is a good local village with a pub, shops, post office, newsagent, and a very pleasant community.
    Surfing is available on The North Coast about 60 minutes away.
    We supply waterproof clothes for dirty jobs or for when it is raining. We have waterproof boots, but you may still want to bring your own working shoes.
    We have WiFi.
    We have a washing machine and a hairdryer that you can use.
    We have bedding and sheets, but you should bring your own towel.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 311375185641