Stay with a family in Wendland in the north of Germany and help with renovation and gardening

Country

Germany

Favourited 99 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/03/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi everyone,

    we are a family with four kids (born 2007, 2009,2012,2015) and a few dogs.
    Middle of 2013 we came back from our stay in Malaysia (almost 4 years) and we bought an old farm house with a 10.000m2 garden in the village side in the north of Germany.
    Slowly we want to change the place into a beautiful place to live (in what we understand of permaculture). It starts with fencing, preparing some places for growing vegetables (though we try to give as little impact into nature as possible) as well as wood work inside the house and Renovation.

    Right now we are in the middle of refirbishing the backpart of the House. We broke down walls, shoveled out the Clay floors and put in new once. We started rebuilding the walls with clay and do all the works as far as possible with natural material.
    Same Time we study methods about helping ourselves , our dogs and others medical wise and get new impact in living peacfully together.

    Your impact here would be helping us in everyday life with what you enjoy- working with clay or creat and play with the kids or doing wood work or cooking...


    We are looking for people who like the exchange with others.
    You dont need to have any skills.

    Staying with us you will have your own room to sleep, sharing the bathroom. You can use our internet and our bicycles. We are cooking vegan, sometimes eating vegetarian outside at friends/family.

    We are staying around 5km away from the next town for buying groceries and the next bigger city is maybe around 7 km away with even more shops. There is a bus station not to far away on the main road and buses going to the cities few times a day.

    This area called "Wendland" is very famous for the creativity of the people who moved and move here due to the anti - nuclear - movement( since more than 30 years).
    It is also famous for its "Rundlingsdoerfer" (villages built like a pizza with many slices) applying for the world heritage. Very interesting place with cultural activities, music nights and much more - not to forget the "Kulturelle Landpartie" in may/june when life is going crazy here (check it out in the net).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Help

    Help

    preparing food, helping with the kids, helping in the household
    garden work (cutting trees, preparing vegetable beds, ...
    clay work in the house, renovation of rooms with natural materials,...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    german, english, some russian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    double bed, sharing bathroom, staying in the same house with us, eating vegetarian/vegan organic food

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can do many many many side activities such as swimming in lakes in summer , going to concerts, to workshops of any kind, to many different celebrations in different villages and cities, artistic events,... and supporting locals with their political and ecological engagements.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    around 4 hours per day but flexible in general



Host ref number: 298158553937