Help care for our fruit trees and organic vegetable garden in Ferro, Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 34 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *October update- Help with mud construction (cob)!*

    We are a couple (Daniel and Reut) with our one 1.5 year old daughter. Living our dream in a beautiful land in the center of portugal.
    We invite you to join us for a while and enjoy the beautiful and peaceful farm life.
    We have here a lot of fruit trees, spring water, a big solar system and a veggie garden that we build. These allow us to live a lifestyle outside the grid. A real Haven.
    The land is surrounded by a natural forest and is isolated so it's very quiet.
    We are viewing the beautiful mountains of Serra da estrela and is 20 min driving from the cities Covilha and Fundao.
    We try to be respectful to the earth and to be a sustainable farm with a permaculture point of view.
    We would like to get some help with the amazing project of renovating an old house. On October we plan to build a cob floor and walls! In addition there is always work in the garden.
    In addition, we will be happy that our little daughter will meet more good and nice people who will be staying with us and helping us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are interested in permaculture and sustainable life.
    We like to cook vegan food and use wild edible plants that grow around.
    Another topic that interests us is natural education, we research this subject through our sweet daughter.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We start now to build a mud (cob) floor and to put mud plaster on the walls of a new house. This will be the main help that is needed.
    I addition, we would like to get some help with working in the garden and some more...
    We like volunteers to do things they like and have inspiration on doing.
    We are looking only for a couple (with or without children) and for a maximum period of up to two weeks.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Hebrew: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a large camping tent withe a double mattress (including blanket and sheets), that is located between trees and has shade.
    There is a compost toilet near the house.
    Electricity is only available in our house.
    The hot indoor shower is inside our house and there is also an outside one for the summer.
    We serve vegan lunch 5 days a week.
    Dinner and breakfast are not included.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your free time you can relax in our peaceful farm or go and take a walk in the beautiful mountains around. There is a nearby nature reserve (Serra da Estrela) and also forest near the farm. There is also a nearby town (Covilha) with restaurants, a cinema and more. The nearby village is a 5-minute walk away and has a small supermarket, ATM and cafés.
    There is no public transportation to our land.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dogs are welcome

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 hours a week


Host ref number: 379122326454