A beautiful location in the heart of the English Lake District

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 101 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple in their 40s and 50s. We live in an amazing place at the top of a hill on the outskirts of a small town in the centre of the English Lake District. It is quiet but very close to local amenities. We are surrounded by mountains, lakes, tweeting birds and beautiful plants and trees. There are views to the mountains and lots of things to do. We are a photographer and street theatre entertainer. We are creative and friendly and enjoy meeting new people. We have a stunning garden which we are restoring along with the house and kitchen garden. It is the ideal place to come and stay if you want to experience the Lake District National Park, do lots of adventuring or just have a quiet and contemplative time. The house is a work in progress but we have everything needed to make it hospitable and homely! We also have a little friendly cat.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers coming to stay with us will benefit from being in a beautiful and peaceful location that is on the edge of a small but vibrant town with good public transport. There are many things of cultural interest and the surrounding area leads to mountain landscapes and walks. Working with us you will be able to learn about different aspects of restoring an old Victorian garden. There are a lot of interesting species of shrubs, mature trees, woodland, a stream and ponds! We will be restoring the vegetable garden too so you will be able to learn about various aspects of nurturing an organic kitchen garden. We have travelled a fair bit so understand the joys of visiting new places and meeting new people. We are a photographer and a street theatre entertainer so would be happy to share our knowledge of these skills!

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a couple or one single person. This may change in the future as we restore the house. We are restoring a beautiful old garden and vegetable garden which require landscaping, path, steps and bridge building, easy weeding , difficult weeding, pruning, pond creation, ground maintenance, lots of easy, medium and hard tasks in a stunning location. We are also restoring the house so if you prefer helping out indoors then decorating skills like painting would be useful. We have a bit of joinery and building projects, like walls that could do with a fix up. We can assist and instruct in all aspects of the project but any skills and expertise in gardens or landscaping would be much appreciated.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little French, a little Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are currently doing our house up. It is a beautiful old 1840s house with stunning views. You will be staying in our home and eating with us most of the time. I enjoy cooking and am happy if you want to assist or even cook for us on occasions. The workaway accommodation is an en-suite double bedroom, with toilet, sink and shower, all recently decorated, for your own personal use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in the heart of the English Lake District. There are good links to the main-line rail network via bus. There are regular buses that can take you all over a wide area. There is bike hire in the town and we can possibly loan a bike if it is appropriate. We are a 5 minute walk into the town where there are shops, cinema, cafes etc. there are hundreds of scenic walks and bike rides. From our house there are many easy to hard walks to be done.There are Lakes where you can take boat rides, hire canoes and row boats, swim if warm enough or just sit and feed the swans. If you like art or writing then the landscape is very inspirining and has inspired many famous poets and artists over the centuries, there are museums and art galleries and visitor attractions in the town and other locations near by which show their work. We enjoy spending time in the outdoors; running, walking, cycling, camping and of course gardening! We spend a lot of time at home on our house and garden project. Because we have a street theatre company we sometimes practice juggling skills and rehearse and build new shows. We live a fairly quiet life although in summer one of us is often working entertaining the public! In choosing to stay with us you will be treated with genuine respect and interest. We would appreciate people who like their own space but are happy to join in and be sociable. We are nice easy going people. We like good fresh food, and respect the environment so recycle and try not to buy plastic and chemicals and aerosols when we shop, we would appreciate people who feel the same way. Although the house is an ongoing project it is perfectly hospitable and constantly improving so you might expect to find paint pots and undecorated spaces! But not your room!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week, we are flexible with this.

Home sweet home!
Into the Garden...
Cream tea in the summer house!
The garden in spring.
we live at on the edge of the town up a hill.
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)


















Host ref number: 296828431289