Work season has slowed down - short days and weather... Im looking at Spring onward.

Country

United States

Favourited 108 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/02/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi My name is Talitha,
    Welcome to Olympia the capital of Washington state at the waters edge of Puget Sound. We are about 1 hour from Seattle and 1.45 to Portland Oregon

    My home is a remodeled old dairy farm house located in the city yet placed at the entrance to a wonderful nature park where the cows once roamed. I am sure you will enjoy your walks through the meadow trails into old growth trees and wetlands. You will feel like you are in the country when actually you are a half block to the city bus line and an easy 20 minute walk to downtown or the Bay... Five minutes to drive there.

    There is a cool little bakery a short walk through the park trail that I recommend. You can sit outside at their garden tables, weather permitting or cozy up inside.

    A few things about me...I try and stay up on global events and have a love for world travel. I very much enjoy sharing conversations about science, energy technology, alternative medicine, spirituality and health. I have a small orchard and in the fall we pick Elderberries for medicine. There are several hives of bees on the property that I sometimes need help with. Don't worry I have protective suits.
    For my spiritual nourishment I practice Kudalini yoga, and teach a Medicine Wheel class with a chakra matrix as a tool for healing and transformation.

    My main line of work is at a local farmers market where I sell my handcrafted jewelry. My work studio is at home where I design and kiln-fire Dichroic glass and also work with semi-precious stones. My latest project is sewing purses and pouches.

    Email me if you would like to help in the Northwest. I have gardens to tend and basic maintenance... and more.
    Also its very important that you inform me if you change your mind for any reason so I can keep that time open for someone else...
    Thanks and Best Wishes

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I offer knowledge working with honey bees, about gardening, good health, the nature of disease, elderberry medicine, jewelry crafting, entrepreneur inspiration, tools for awakening more of your spiritual development,

  • Help

    Help

    I need about 4 hrs of help a day... in exchange for a room and 2 meals. The tasks will vary from day to day. You will have 2 free days to roam and enjoy. I am flexible and will do my best to support you in your needs as well. You must be self motivated and happy to work alone.
    ~ Yay we built the deck this summer and its beautiful.
    Below is my extended list in order of the seasons...

    SPRING INTO SUMMER
    Outside
    ~ plant garden beds for spring
    ~ weeding
    ~ mow grass
    ~ morning glory and blackberry removal
    ~ stain fence
    ~ CARPENTER SKILLS or painting would be wonderful.
    ~ help me with sculptured concrete walk way

    ~ LATE SUMMER ... is Elderberry harvest and I will teach you how to make medicine,
    ~ ...spread ceder bark

    ~ FALL - clean up gardens beds for winter and plant winter veges
    ~ prune Elderberries, raspberries, fertilize blueberries, prune perennial flowers
    ~ rake leaves

    WINTER INSIDE projects mostly
    ~ assistance with jewelry craft
    ~ painting a bath room and two doors.
    ~ clean windows
    ~ organize kitchen cupboard, tidy up frig. etc
    ~ small sheet-rock repair
    ~ replace tub with new shower unit

    Nov. Dec. Jan Feb March the days are so short and the weather is unpredictable... so not much outside stuff to do.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a private small room up stairs looking out over the nature park. It includes a nice twin bed, and dresser. There is a bath room off the hallway that is sometimes shared with a guest... It's important to me that you are tidy with all your use of the house. I ask you to leave it as good or better than you found it after every use

    I enjoy cooking and sharing conversation at meals but there will be times when you must ...self prepare a meal. I'm not vegetarian and do not buy food for vegan diet. So please disclose if you have special needs in this area.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Thanks for including a photo with your profile...
    No smoking in the house. There is a smoking area with ashtray on the comfy porch.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hrs a day 5 days a week, occationally less.







Host ref number: 295843447487