Come and join our country hostel and help out with various things. Stockholm, Sweden

updated
Country

Sweden

Favourited 786 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    2282

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there:)
    We are searching for voluntaries the hole summer (weeks, days or months). As we are dealing with a hostel/airbnb we are especially searching for a person who speaks good English and have experiences with service minded jobs. So yes extroverts are great. It also regards some form of a dress code (not too strict but a bit nicer than a garden worker:)

    You will have an amazing summer here with lakes, nature and a great home. Many you are a couple or two friends, or just another workawayer. When the guests are here you need to be a bit hidden/transparant so that the guests can feel that they are alone here or you might live in a little summer house by the lake. But its also nice that they know that they can ask someone if help is needed.

    Your tasks will be very diverse. Changing bed cheats - gardening, guest care - house maintenance, supermarket, you name it.

    We also have a baby, a dog, cat and a horse. The horse is placed 15 min away from here.



    ...............................................................................

    Presentation:

    We are Ludde and Louise. We live in a beautiful countryside farm/community together with halftime 12-14 year old kids. We also have a cat, (Tiger) a dog (Osho) and a horse (Musse). Our neighbour is a big horse stable so there a lot of Icelandic horses surrounding the houses.

    Right now both of us are based from home but, taking care of little baby and working. but as manteioned above our family has to move else where when the guests have rented the hole house.

    At this point lots of things in the garden needs attention - an opportunity to dig in your hands in to the earth, use your muscles and creativity.

    About our place:
    We have been renovating and preserving the houses and garden the last few years. The garden is a flowery haven with lots of small "rooms", allowing both interaction and privacy. The houses is designed for many people to be able to stay over, since we love socializing and have a lot of friends. We often create communal living weekends or even weeks, where we live, cook, eat, meditate, yoga, play, dance and do everything together in a nice and harmonious flow.
    We will also host some retreats from time to time.
    We are only 30 minutes from Stockholm city center (with car) which menas you'll be able to combine city life with natures silence and peacefulness.

    We have an extra house with two studios and separate bathrooms built just for people to be able to come and stay, and one of the studios will be your place to stay while being here. In the main house, upper floor there is 4 beds also.

    There's another old house (the Temple), were we usually dance, make yoga or watch a movie on the cinema screen.
    Life here is a combination of peacefulness and full action...

    We will be able to host 2-3 people weekly/monthly preferably a couple with experience in construction/gardening - if not 2 individuals that match these experiences so they can work together.

    Looking forward to hearing from you.
    Talk soon...

    Louise and Ludde

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'll be able to gain knowledge of creating projects under own responsibility
    Meeting a lot of openminded people, deepening and challenging your consciousness and presence in yourself.
    Being close to the nature!
    Not taking life so seriously...
    We guide you were to go if you wanna have info about Stockholm city.

  • Help

    Help

    The help needed for this Spring/Summer requires 2-3 people. It is ideally suited to a couple who are self-sustaining, as during the work week you will often be on your own together. Any balance of the below mentioned skills will be considered. If we can find a group of individuals who also fit the skills needed, that can work too. Also, a stay until completion of the projects (3+ weeks, depending) is preferred. We can skype first to ensure a great match!

    The main help required surrounds outdoor maintenance and projects:
    - look after the garden which constantly needs a hand with lawn mowing, weeding, watering (this is more concentrated to April-October).
    - Cutting up wood and constructing a place where all of it can be stored
    - cutting down busches
    - creating & constructing pergolas
    - transforming a container into a organisational storage & that looks nice from the outside.
    - support with our horse as well as maintenance in the houses.
    Some other help around the house with cooking, cleaning and laundry would be appreciated as well. We can share cooking, however if you are skilled in that, I would be more than happy to leave more room for that quality. We eat gluten free, but otherwise we eat everything, though with a longing to turn more to vegetarian food.

    Love

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swedish, English,

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A beautiful newly built house in the same style as the rest of the buildings, looking classical Swedish old style on the outside, and cozy modern art deco, oriental on the inside. You can see pictures of it here in the profile. Please note that some times we have so many visitors here that you may need to move to another bed/room on the property to accommodate (mainly in summer).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's wifi in the house, which you're free to use when you're not working. Down by the lake you can go swimming and we sometimes enjoy the sauna there. There are beautiful forests you can walk in, and if season there's plenty of berries and mushrooms to pick.

    You are a bit remote out here (which is the whole idea) but there's a bus leaving about 1 km away, taking you to Tumba's commuter train station, which takes you to Stockholm City, if you want to go more Urban on your days off. The whole ride with bus and commuter train takes about 1 hour. Also there is an extra car that can be used to get to Tumba and run errands as necessary.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The daughter of the house!
The wooden fired sauna house by the lake.
Down by the lake, 1 kilometer's walk from the house.
The rose portal outside the main house, leading you to the dining patio.
One of the sleeping lofts
Sleeping conditions.
Entering one of the houses.
one of the living rooms.
bathroom.
One of many gatherings...
Me in the front, and some of my very good friends, that you might meet when coming here.
The kitchen and dining area in the main house. This is were everyone usually ends up hanging out.
The houses from the back, overlooking the meditation circle and the dining patio. To the right is "your" house.
The main house to the left, the "temple" for dancing and movies to the right.
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












Host ref number: 275975869692