Organic Farm and Yoga Retreat Center - on a magical island in Denmark

Country

Denmark

Favourited 743 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/11/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1099

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Please look at available dates before you write :-)

    We live on a big old farm in the beautiful and magical island of Bornholm. We moved here 9 years ago and we love it. Most people who visit us don't want to leave again :-)

    We are prioritising people with pratical skills in either building, gardening, painting or other. So please specify what your experience is :-)

    We run a yoga center, Solveig teaches the yoga, Ian helps with the marketing. Ian also works with film, marketing and business consulting. Normally we only live 2 people here, but regularly friends and family are visiting from many different countries. In the summertime we also run retreats where people stay at the center.

    We enjoy the peaceful life, we love seeing good friends, being in nature, working in our garden, sitting by a fire, walking by the sea. Our interests are living a life as aware as possible, with an open heart and mind, meditation, permaculture, good food, music, films, community.

    MAY-NOVEMBER
    We like people to stay for a MINIMUM of 4 weeks since it takes time to get to know our routines and learn how to do things.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    What type of person are we looking for?
    We are looking for community minded people who are hard working, and have an interest in their own personal development.

    Organic Gardening & Permaculture.
    We are inspired by the principles of permaculture and organic farming. We love to grow our own food and become more self sufficient. We need your help to expand what we have already created and to plant for the future.

    We have raised beds in our courtyard, a small greenhouse and a lot of fruit trees, If you have specific skills or experience in permaculture or organic gardening we would love to hear from you.

    We need people who love to get their hands dirty weeding, composting and preparing beds for planting seeds and potted seedlings. We are also digging up bushes and trees to create hedges, wind breaks and new woodland areas.

    You don’t necessarily need a lot of experience, you just need to be able to follow instructions and be able to work together as a team as well as be able to work on your own when needed.

    last year our Autumn project was building a new kitchen garden at the front of our house, we had help from several workawayers with fencing, ground preparation, mulching and composting this area. We created two Hugelkultur Beds two keyhole beds and several long lasagne beds. This garden has worked out very well producing much of the food we eat.

    Animal Care
    We have 2 horses, over 20-30 chickens, 2 ducks and 2 cats, if you love animals we would greatly appreciate your help.

    The animals need feeding on a daily basis so we prefer people who are experienced with horses or who are not afraid to be around large animals and want to learn. Their hooves need cleaning regularly and their stables need mucking out every day.

    We have free range chickens that produce the most wonderful tasting eggs. They need feeding and checking every day, making sure they have enough water and collecting their eggs. A few of them you can even pick up and cuddle. The chicken house needs mucking out and cleaning we use the chicken dung in our compost heap and recycle it back to our garden. The chickens eat a lot of our food waste and vegetable scraps.

    Forestry
    There are a number of willow trees around our lake that need trimming and chainsawing up. If you have a some chainsaw experience that would be great but you can also help in splitting, moving and stacking the wood in our barns. (For safety reasons we don’t allow workawayers to use our chainsaw unless they have extensive previous experience)
    We also have areas that need branches & undergrowth cleaning up.
    If you know anything about pruning fruit trees we have several large apple & pear trees that need some love and attention.

    Construction & Building
    We are always especially interested in someone who has specific building or construction skills or people who are interested to learn this and are good working with their hands. Ian has a lot of building experience and is a skilled carpenter and stone mason. We have several ongoing renovation projects and a farm this size needs constant maintenance.

    You can learn useful skills like surface preparation & painting, repairing glass in windows, fixing and repairing cracks in brick walls, and repointing brickwork.

    If you have carpentry skills we need help replacing old rotten beams in a few places, putting in doors and windows and renovating & replacing the woodwork on the sides of a few of our barns

    We will also be building fences and raised beds for the garden and creating dry stone walls and stone work using the local granite.

    Our daily schedule varies with the season, but this is an example:

    07.30-08.00 Meditation (you are welcome to join if you like)
    08.00-09.00 Breakfast
    09.00-12.00 Practical help
    12.00-13.00 Lunch
    13.00-15.00 Practical help
    Freetime
    Dinner
    Freetime
    23.00 Lights Out (No internet, loud Conversations or music after this time)

    You are expected to complete 5 hours help each day and your weekends are off, max 25 hours a week

    These are times are a general guide, sometimes we might be doing a job which takes longer and we will volunteer longer hours, but then of course you can take more time off after the task is finished.

    We like people to stay for a minimum of 4 weeks since it takes time to get to know our routines and learn how to do things.

    We are both non smokers and ask our guests not to smoke anywhere on our property.

    Food
    We supply healthy (mainly organic) vegetarian food and some fish. We generally don't eat meat. We love cooking and always eat very well. You will be expected to help with cooking, food preparation and cleaning up afterwards. This is not part of the 5 hours a day and we take turns so everybody is part of it.

    Special Food Needs.
    We often attract people with different food needs i.e Vegan/Gluten Free/No Carb Diets/ while we try our best to accommodate their needs we like to make it clear before people come that if they need to have expensive special food products then it's their responsibility to provide them. If you are vegan, you dont have to eat our eggs, but you must be okay with collecting them and caring for the chickens.

    Perfume, Deodorant, Soaps & Shampoo
    As a yoga & meditation center we ask all our visitors not to wear strong smelling perfumes or deodorants. If you practice yoga and meditation your senses often become heightened and strong scents can be particularly disturbing.
    We have a biological sceptic tank which can’t take chemicals so please only use natural soaps and shampoos. (If you don’t bring this with you, let us know and we can take you to the shops where you can buy some)

    Yoga
    We are a yoga centre and have 3-4 weekly yoga classes plus weekend retreats in the summer month. All our yoga classes are in Danish and all the classes are usually full - sometimes however there might be a space for you to join, if you are okay with following along in danish. You are also very welcome to use either of our Yoga Studios any time they are not in use for your own practice. We usually have daily meditation before we start work in the mornings that you are always welcome to join.

    Working Clothes and Boots
    Please bring practical clothing with you. Rubber boots are very useful it can get quite muddy here.
    It's also a good idea to bring your own working gloves, we do have old pairs you can borrow though.

    We were the first workaway hosts on our island and we have really enjoyed seeing it spread around and become more popular with many of our friends who are also now on workaway. We have set up a Facebook group so you can meet other workawayers if you are interested.

    GENERAL REQUIREMENTS

    #1. You have to be able to work independently. Sometimes you may be the only workawayer here so you have to be able to motivate yourself and complete tasks without constant supervision.

    #2. Some basic pratical skill is necessary, you dont need to know everything, but you need to at least have tried some pratical work, like painting or gardening or carpentry or similar.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    A stay at our farm will provide an opportunity to learn a lot of pratical skills of farm living and organic gardening - permaculture. If you are interested in spiritual life and personal development you can find a lot of inspiration here.
    You can explore the beautiful island of Bornholm as well as meeting and interact with locals and the wonderful guests coming to visit our yogafarm. Living in nature gives you such a different peace of mind compared to a hectic city life.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Danish, English, some spanish and german

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on time of year and availability:
    Caravan (toilet shower in main house)
    Rooms in main house
    (tent also an option if you like this)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The place:
    There are 16,000 square meters with a park-like garden, lake, the main house from the year 1850 / yogacenter and barns. The property lies peacefully, surrounded by fields and forest, high above the sea. On the east side of the property is a stunning panoramic views of the Baltic Sea.
    Within a radius of 5 kilometers you will find wild nature, sea, forest, waterfalls, cafes, museums, crafts, galleries, indoor swimming pool, library and a small beautiful village.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day 5 days per week

Our workawayer Jenny after a day mushroom picking. Ian is a mushroom expert so if you come at the right time of year July - October you will get to learn too
Where we are located on Bornholm
Panoramic view from the barns behind our house overlooking the Baltic Sea.
Døndalen Waterfall, set in a beautiful forest 2 km from our place. Best to see it in Autumn or Spring after a lot of rain.
The sea view over the cornfields in summer.
Moonlight sea view from the property
From our beloved India, where we go every winter.
Ian, Solveig, Jamaika, Sparkley
Rø plantage a few kilometers from our house
Summer by Salene our local beach, 1,5 km away
Solveig with our horses in the snow
The driveway, some of the chickens and 1 of our cats
Our house and yogacenter
Gudhjem, our local village












Host ref number: 254647176772