Help with farming near Cygnet township, Lymington, Tasmania

Favourited 80 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate


  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day



  • Description


    We are trying to live as sustainably as possible. I am an ex-chef and my partner is a climate change scientist with CSIRO. We have poultry, pigs, cattle, dogs and a market garden. We are 1km from the water, close to Cygnet township in a nice little valley called Lymington in Southern Tasmania. We provide good food, internet and either a caravan with a double bed attached to the house or a room with 2 bunks. We offer help with language, interesting conversation, pick up from Hobart on week-days, pushbikes and an occasional beer. In exchange we expect 4.5 hours honest help for each night accommodated. The tasks will vary depending on your knowledge, experience and skills. We prefer a minimum of 2 week stay.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Help


    Weeding, planting, mowing, brushcutting, fencing, animal feeding, brewing, occasional animal slaughtering and butchering (only if you want to), moving cattle, general maintenance and painting. Cooking if you want to.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English, German, some Italian and a little Spanish and Japanese

  • Accommodation


    A caravan attached to the house with a double bed or private room with 2 single beds, shared bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can get a lift into Hobart most week-days to see the sights in the big smoke, we have a small boat for fishing when the weather permits, the beach is within bike riding distance, Cygnet also where you will find a library, coffee shops and galleries. Be prepared for active discussion especially on the subject of sustainable living. We have some house rules which we will give you when you arrive, they are pretty basic and we are easy going and used to living with people from a variety of different back grounds. Please make initial contact via email as we work outside most of the day. Tasmania is on Eastern Standard Time if you want to call please try between 13.30 & 14.30.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are both dual nationals and have travelled extensively ourselves, we like hearing your travel stories and are happy to share ours, we are middle aged but young at heart. Didier is working for CSIRO on Sea Level rises, he has also spent time working in upper atmospheric and solid state physics. I have spent time as a manager with Cirque du Soleil on tour, a chef with the Antarctic Division and a teacher. We have been farming for 8 years but welcome new ideas and feedback on ways to improve the way we do things.

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    5 hours a day 5 days a week-flexibly worked


My Photo Album


Host ref number: 242581174536