Improve your English while helping with dog walking cleaning and decorating in Wiltshire, England

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 260 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/02/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 18 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple in our 50's, our children are grown up and live away now, although we still see them often.

    Our daughter Lauren works in London as a marketing manager and our son Jonny is a professional rugby player. Pete is a veterinary surgeon specialist in bovine reproduction so he works on farms doing embryo transfer and insemination work; he works long hours most days and travels away quite a bit. Hazel is works as an occupational therapist specialist in dementia and works away from home quite often. She works in her office at home on other days.

    We have two gorgeous dogs Bessie aged 6 years and Mildred aged 2 years who need walking every day. We need some help with dog walking, gardening and with some general maintenance such as painting and cleaning in the house. We would welcome help with food preparation and clearing up but this is not essential. There will be some short periods when we may need to travel away and you would be trusted to look after our house and our dogs.

    We live in the beautiful Wiltshire countryside with amazing walks and views out over the fields in a small group of friendly neighbours of all ages. We socialise a lot with our local friends and neighbours. There are good bus and train links to London, Bristol, Bath, Gloucester in fact you can travel almost anywhere in the UK very easily from here. However, it can feel quite isolated, especially during winter months and to go into town you would need to drive or cycle. We have bicycles and may be able to drive you or lend a car to get to the station.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They would learn to speak English and how to cook and care for dogs. We cook fresh food every day using produce from our garden where possible. Also, about how English communities live and share. We socialise with our friends and neighbours a lot. There are many cultural attractions within travelling distance such as London, Gloucester, Bath and Bristol.

  • Help

    Help

    The house is a big one and help with cleaning, minor repairs and some decorating is needed. Dog walking cleaning and DIY are also regular tasks that we need help with. There are no deadlines or schedules and so we can be flexible regarding when and how often the help is provided by the volunteer.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedroom with easy access to toilet and bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Avebury Stone Circle, Stone Henge, museums, cathedrals etc in London, Bath, Bristol, Gloucester. All are 1-2 hours away by car or public transport. We cook fresh food every day, walk the dogs . We spend a lot of time socialising with friends and neighbours and all their children so, a really mixed age group. We also like music, we listen to music and we play guitars and sing. We go to Gloucester most weekends to watch rugby. We also take part in keep fit and pilates every week. All of these activities would be available for the volunteer too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 235666274812