Would you like to help on a hobby and horse farm close to Ottawa, Canada?

updated
Country

Canada

Favourited 385 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    78  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My interests are around protecting the environment and healthy living. I spend most of my free time with my animals, going trail riding on horseback, or doing some upgrades and repairs around my hobby farm. My love and attention goes to my animals, to provide them with the best environment possible. My passion is also restoring vintage tractors, cars and pickup trucks.

    I like in-depth conversations with my helpers, about conserving the environment, healthy living, our future, humanity, and many other topics.

    Cooking healthy, ideally vegetarian food is important to me, as well as living a sustainable, meaningful and happy life every day!

    I now have two horses, two dogs, two cats, and a llama (and I am getting another one).
    My dream is to have two animals of each species ... ;o)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am very happy to help you with improving your English language skills. I am very skillful at this.
    I will be excited to demonstrate the Canadian way of life, Canadian culture, Ottawa's surroundings and outdoor living.
    I will support you with starting and fulfilling your Canadian dream!

    You will also meet authentic organic farmers, where we get free-ranging eggs, honey, maple syrup, non-GM grains for baking, and fresh produce according to the season. We go to farmers' markets as much as possible.

    If you are an experienced rider you (we) can go trail riding through the beautiful Canadian countryside.
    If you are interested, I would like to show you how to handle horses.

    I am happy to teach you driving tractors and maintaining/repairing vintage pickup trucks.
    I can teach you working with all sorts of (power) tools and share practical hands-on experience in all trades.

    On your free days I can take you to Ottawa in the morning, and pick you up in the evening, if you like to visit.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for help on my hobby farm from March on, especially if you have one of the following skills:

    - handling, training and riding horses (experienced riders only)
    - training, walking and cuddling dogs
    - gardening, preparing a bee-friendly garden
    - planting fruit trees
    - household and healthy, vegetarian cooking
    - harvesting hay for the horses (July - September)
    - removing storm damages and repairing horse fences
    - painting and renovating

    Helpers and guests with mechanical skills are very welcome.
    We are working a lot on vintage tractors, pickup trucks and motorbikes.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own cozy room.
    Fully equipped large kitchen (helpers have given each other international cooking classes here!).
    All food is included. We cook all meals, bread etc. from scratch; and all your dietary needs will be met.
    Large dining room with fire place.
    Movie area and home theater with tons of CD's & DVD's.
    Fitness room with sauna and a hot tub (winter) and large pool (summer).
    Outdoor fire place with Hollywood swing for romantic camp fires.
    Huge workshop with all tools you can imagine (if not, I will get them).

    All outfit like working boots, coats, riding/bicycle helmets, clothing (e.g. for painting) is available in all sizes.
    If not, I will get it for you.
    Permanent access to internet and printer.

    This is a very peaceful place, where you can relax, enjoy nature and the animals, and pursue your hobbies as well.
    Public transportation is possible, but I am happy to pick you up and drop you off from Ottawa.
    Please note, that this is pristine country life, and there are no bars, restaurants or discos in the village.
    Absolutely no drugs, alcohol excesses. No internet or selfie addicts, please.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    For your time off, you may take the horses for trail rides (experienced riders only!).
    There are also bicycles, kayaks, a canoe, a ping-pong table, snow shoes, cross country skies etc.
    In the evenings we can do a camp fire (not in winter) or a BBQ on the deck.

    Ottawa is a small but beautiful town. There are also many museums, e.g. the National Art Gallery, the Aviation Museum and the Museum of Civilization. The tours through the Parliament buildings are stunning.
    The Gatineau Park, the Rideau River and the Rideau Canal (world heritage site) are great to visit as well, all year round.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours; 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












































Host ref number: 186417114129