Help with bees, honey and organic plantation in the Italian alps.

Country

Italy

Favourited 514 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/05/2019

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have an organic beekeeping farm with more or less 300 hives. We make different kind of honey (rhododendrum, linden, dandelion/taraxacum, chestnut and mountain flower, heather etc..) moving around hives on different bee apiaries following blossoms.

    We have also fruits high in the mountains (Cogne, Aosta Valley). We work up there from June and July producing strawberries and blackcurrants.
    We live in Aosta (120 from Turin, 50 Km from Chamonix-MtBlanc) in the middle of the highest peaks of the Alps.
    With our fruits we do also jam but normally we prefer to sell them in a fresh way.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you are interested in organic beekeeping and in the way you can raise naturally your own bee colonies, you are in the right place!
    Then we love sharing thoughts and emotions with our host but in the same time we leave him/her to be independent as he/her pleases.

  • Help

    Help

    The tasks are hard on the season but that could be even very different depend on the period.

    Bees bees bees!!! For those who are not scared of them:-), the help doesn't miss.
    The hardest help required is helping moving around hives on a different flowering (hives can be very heavy and we do this at night), but also helping in the daytime creating nucs (little bees colonies), raising queens...

    Ideally a strong person (man or woman), cause the help on moving hives, or a couple.
    The help could be very elastic and also hours. In the high period helpers could work very hard in some days, moving hives or taking off honey and then rest for some others.
    But everything is sharing (laughing and tireness) between us and speaking about what the workawayer is expecting from this experience, trying to be elastic me too about this and make him/her happy is a great piece of my happiness and the reason we love to have workawayers and not just "helpers").

    Minimum stay 3 weeks but we would prefer a longer stay of 1 month or more.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, French, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the summer the lodgement will be a caravan (roulotte) or you have to bring with you a tent. Helpers need to be happy to walk 1km to go to the nearest town.
    Normally we will eat all together but the volunteer have to be ready to stay alone and cooking by himself for some days. Every max 10 days there is possibility to stay at home and taking a shower and recharge electrical equipment. Children up to five years are allowed.

    In April, May, june (first half), September helpers will stay in our house in a private room. For that reason we can accomodate just one workawayer at a time in this period.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is the possibility to do long walks between meadows inside and outside of our region. You can see beautiful beast like ibex, chamois, eagles, marmot etc.. and in the near Natural Park of Gran Paradiso, or in the Mont Blanc area you can do trekking, hiking, climbing, paragliding ecc..

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week












Host ref number: 18419996974d