Volunteer at our organic farm in France

Favourited 802 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register


  • Description


    We are a couple, by the names of Jean-Yves and Michèle (59 and 61 years old), living on an organic farm that is situated 5km from Pleyben, Centre Finistère.
    Jean-Yves is a farmer and has studied naturopathy and Michèle is a meditation teacher and osteopath.
    Starting in 2005, we have slowly renovated the stone buildings on the property with little means but our enthusiasm. We have also established a self-sufficient life style.
    We eat organic, vegetarian meals. We don’t smoke or drink alcool.
    We practice yoga and meditation daily and like to share bhajans and music with others. We have a guitar, a violin, a piano, as well as indian and african drums.
    We would like to develop a place, a sanctuary, where people can come for workshops and retreats and have time to listen and celebrate their creativity. We also would like to host open days for artistic and spiritual expression.
    Our aim is to build up a small community who share our spiritual values to care and respect for each other and the planet and work towards more unity.
    We invite volunteers to contribute in building this project including the running of the farm ; which includes helping take care of the sheep, goats, a horse and a cow. We also make goat cheese and from time to time bake bread. There is work to be done in the garden too but it all depends on the time of year.
    We would enjoy sharing our lifestyle with others.

    But today after more than 12 years, we would like to simplify our life and be more and more in our olive orchard in south of France and help in the field of good health...and then sell all the property in Brittany to a group of persons motivated to "continue" and create more in those directions. While waiting this change we continue the day to day life on the farm and we prepare to let a beautiful and clear place to the next persons.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help


    Our organic farm is looking for help with gardening, fruits and vegetable picking, making goats' cheese, tending animals (sheep, goats, horse and cow), improving the buildings.

    You don't have to be experts in those fields. You'll be taught as you go along.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    (little) English, less Spanish and less German

  • Accommodation


    An individual or double room in a calm and revitalising environment.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    a different way of life, contact with animals and nature, french...

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours maximum

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 1547311674a9