Help with maintaining a tourisic resort by the beach close to Cabo Espichel, Portugal

updated
Country

Portugal

Favourited 750 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    23  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/05/2019

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Bom Dia,

    Dear folks, things have changed according to new legislation. From now on the host is to pay a minimum wage in exchange of your participation in the project presented.

    Update: need help with preparation for guests from 15 may till 8th May. Then, from 1st of July! Very easy work plenty of leisure as you can see in the reviews. Ideally, I am looking for someone for the long term with whom to run the business.

    This is disorganized Nuno, and the animals (4 dogs, 3 cats) and i run a beautiful touristic resort at the wild and beautiful coast of Cabo Espichel.

    I decided it was time to go back to my native Portugal after living & studying in England for 17 years: I quit academia and turned all my attention to my land which is located right by the seafront (60 000 Square meters). Seeking for keen helping hands to help with the upkeeping of Gezelligh here in the farm. And if you speak German and Dutch that is a bonus-most guests are from GErmany and the Netherlands.
    I have always been a keen reader of Fernando Pessoa, the famous Portuguese poet and I saw in the 'development' of this land a possibility to fully realise Alberto Caeiro's (Pessoa’s pseudonym) natural philosophy in a practical and sustainable way.
    Two years ago I set up the project and designed and built a beautiful, self sustainable wooden house, restored and personalized vintage caravans right by the sea under gorgeous centenary typical Portuguese pine trees and last year we build a wooden cabin (tree house) as well. The caravans and the tree house are all rented out to guests.

    I ask for +/- 4 flexible hours work a day. The remainder of the time is yours to spend on the beach which is about 20 min walking distance. Oh and we don’t start work very early.
    I appreciate creative, enthusiastic minds. If you are a good organizer with sound work ethic that is enough.Your main tasks are general maintenance around the land and the housekeeping of the caravans. I appreciate help with cooking, the shopping and the animals (Ana, the goose loves her daily bath). Very important- Dutch /German speaking is most welcome, as most guests are from Germany and the Netherlands.

    Type of help
    General Maintenance
    House keeping (of the caravans)
    Animal care
    Help withGuests
    We may need some help building a chickencoop

    Languages spoken
    Portuguese, Spanish, English, Catalan, German, French and Dutch

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I speak several languages, and have spent considerable time abroad: mainly in England, but also Spain (I am half Catalan) Nuno is an experienced teacher andis willing to use his skills in order to promote the philosophy of Alberto Caeiro, while I create a space dedicated to him, and those who wish to learn the existential sustainability so elegantly articulated in his poetry. Fernando Pessoa is now established as Portugal's cultural landmark and we hope to amplify it by all means available.

  • Help

    Help

    I get easily dispersed and needs essentially logistical help preparing the caravans and house for customers' rentals. Feel free to take over the cooking if you really want to!
    The day does not start very early: after breakfast we get on with the tasks for the day. I am not particularly methodical, and l 'roll with the punches' in terms of daily tasks.
    Please refer to references particularly Kristina, who describes very well what are the tasks.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Portuguese, Spanish, English, Catalan

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a caravan available in a quiet corner of the land. It is simple but has all you need: a double bed and 2 small bunk beds and a nout side table and chairs. The caravan has a stove & utensils for cooking. I would appreciate it if you bring your own sleeping bag.
    The bathroom is underneath (and seperate) from the main house.
    Food, cooking and washing facilities are provided. But as we said before: we enjoy it if you chip in with the cooking. I am not vegetarian and although i appreciate our meat and fish, I am are quite happy to eat a vegetarian meal.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The land is by the beach (literally seafront). Andalthoughit is onlyonehourfrom Lisbon and fairly easily reached by public transport from Lisbon or Setubal, it is also remote. The beaches are great and there are some fantastic walks in the area.
    Azoia, the local village, is about a 20 mins walk away. It has two typically Portuguese cafes, a breakfastplaceand a minimarket.
    If you don’t mind the quiet and remoteness, than you will have a great time. We think the place is especially suited for a couple or 2 friends.
    I am a sociable person who can work hard but also live a leisurely life and i enjoy my privacy from time to time.
    Anyone who comes here would certainly not be overburdened, but i do expect a level of productivity that satisfies both parties during the said 4 hours.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week















Host ref number: 128242884221