A magical place that needs love and creativity near Polski Trambesh, near to Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria



Favourited 124 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: No minimum

  • Description


    Hello, *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️newsflash*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ I need someone to look after the space and my furry family THIS WEEK please! Someone is coming in a few weeks until July 2019 while I'm doing medical nonsense in the UK, so come along whenever and stay as long as you want! Since March I have had some very kind Workawayers looking after the place and walking the dogs every day, but my current helper is leaving on Thursday 9th so I'd be more than happy for the right creative people to continue this, get on with spring gardening and call the space their own... I'll make sure you have more than enough money for food! *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️end of newsflash*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    I have permanently lived in this space since 2016. It is a beautiful house in a village in Bulgaria, where I live using bicycle, buses and trains as my only transport. Yes that includes trips back to the UK! The project has turned the house into an all seasons retreat, where I'm making creative workshops, so we are ready to house anyone who would benefit from a painting studio or yoga space.

    I adopt abandoned animals so I have a very social but well trained furry family out here too. It's even perfect for the snowy season if you're looking for a quiet and special place to sit out the winter. I have installed a full wood burner central heating system, a nice showering room and enough space to fit up to 6 people... That may be a bit of a squeeze at the moment actually, but I have three very comfortable rooms for people to live in. Having said this it is a great place to enjoy the isolation, working on writing, music or other creative projects, the space is adaptable to whatever dynamic makes people feel comfortable.

    This is a beautiful house far from the strains of civilisation. I came here when I was struggling to make enough money to live in the UK. Since then I have worked online as a freelance writer (so yes, there is very good WiFi) and have continued to make paintings (I have also learned to speak Bulgarian). I use derelict buildings in the village to make special places for people to relax in and nearby derelict buildings are good suppliers of materials. I'm especially currently looking for someone who knows about roofs, not for the main house but I intend to turn the barns into the main creative studio zone, so I hope someone out there likes the sound of that!

    I want other people to enjoy this place with me, help with the garden and help to make additions and adjustments, this home is an ongoing project and I want to use Workaway to learn new skills and make the place even more special.

    In the nearby town I am trying to organise some art projects with locals, so watch this space. I make public art projects in the UK and want to make them international... Starting here with the Karantsi Brick Project... see the photos below!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn how to give Roma children something positive to do by engaging with creative projects. When there is a group of three or more I can invite a Bulgarian teacher to the house on a weekly basis. The villagers are friendly so I believe language skills will increase the comfort of your experience.

  • Help


    I just want people to enjoy being away from the city and make artwork in a beautiful quiet place with a giant garden. The house and garden is looked after by those who live here to help the place to grow with them. I would love to have some help from electricians and builders. I think I'm teaching myself plastering so I'm ready to multiply these art studios.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Bulgarian

  • Accommodation


    This is a two bedroom house with a kitchen and a garage and many other rooms ready to be made useful.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many ancient sites, waterfalls and monasteries within cycling distance. In the greenest country you can imagine! The house is in cycling distance from Polski Trambesh, where there is a train and bus station and a huge market every Wednesday. I have no car so I often make the hour and a half walk to and from the town while simultaneously taking audio Bulgarian lessons.
    Multitasking is good!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Tacky Annie, one of the three lovely rescue animals here.

Host ref number: 122614712894