Help wanted to tame wild woodland and waterways around our little old watermill in South west France

Country

France

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/03/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    256

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are John and Sara, a British couple in our sixties, we have happily lived in France for 15 years. We speak good French but at home we speak English.
    Our lifestyle is friendly, informal, quiet and simple.
    We have plenty of experience of renovation projects and have been Brocanters for years.
    We love rummaging about at Vide Greniers and Brocantes and enjoy repurposing and upcycling .
    We live in a little old watermill with water running beneath and with a hectare of neglected woodland in a corner of the Lot et Garonne department of central south west France, close to the river Lot and near a small town Fumel, 3 km. This area is very much 'France profond ' fruit and wine growers and sunflower fields.
    This lovely area is a mixture of forested hillsides and wide river banks much loved by visitors from all over. The local town has shops and cafes, a cinema and a market, a daily bus service and a small railway station.
    Rich with historical interest, our area has a number of ancient chateaux and fortifications in differing states of preservation.
    Nearby there are hills to wander in and plenty to explore by bike or on foot.

    Our current projects are to tame the much neglected woodland and river banks that boader our property and to help them to flourish and support local
    We plan to create a vegetable garden too.
    Living with us are a small dog , three cats , some hens and a beehive ( our neighbours have horses.)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Sonstige Arbeiten

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    An alternative to city life in rural France. Fresh air, big skies.
    A chance to feel at ease and to get some great physical exercise, to explore a part of the world studded with pretty villages and threaded with beautiful rivers and covered with plenty of trees.
    Travellers can benefit from our many years experience of living abroad and taking part in local life .
    In summertime there are plenty of festivals of music , food and wine .
    In the quieter seasons there are walks and bike rides .
    At home a real fire and home cooked food .
    Some time to simply be at peace .

  • Help

    Help

    Help with the woodland and watercourses
    Our priority is to rejuvenate the watercourses , clearing debris and improving the flow and wildlife environment on the river banks
    chainsaw experience would be a big plus , own safety boots too.
    General help with outdoor tasks and the garden , creating a lavender bed for example
    making a big chicken run
    General helping out with various ongoing projects
    ability to drive a small tractor would be useful
    Now in our sixties , we have the experience , we need extra pairs of hands and muscles .

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Comfortable caravan with ample space for a couple or two sharing.
    Single travellers also very welcome
    There is a loo and shower but you can have a hot bath in the mill house too.
    Internet access .
    We have British TV in the mill house .
    breakfast - help yourself
    lunch - soup and sandwich etc
    Supper home cooked , big on vegetables light on meat , vegetarian no problem
    endless supplies of tea and biscuits .
    length of stay :
    one week to one month
    time of year :
    early spring to late autumn
    Possibility of pick up at local airport and rail station
    contact us fir more information

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This area of France has plenty to offer. Rich history, gorgeous villages, street markets, ancient caves and intriguing chateaux. Lakes and rivers, big and small.
    popular with holiday makers who enjoy the outdoors
    River sports , fishing , boating , canoeing.
    Walking. horse riding , an observatory , bird watching
    Painting , singing .....
    great food and wine tasting , gourmet evening markets with music .
    A car or bike would be a big advantage .
    Airports
    Bergerac 1 hour
    Toulouse 2 hours
    Bordeaux 2.5 hours
    Mainrail station
    Agen 1 hour
    Big towns
    Cahors 40 minutes
    Sarlat 90 minutes

    A bit more about us:
    We love our life here in France, we have grown up daughters and grandchildren who all live in the UK. they visit when they can and join in with whatever project is happening at the time .
    We both love old stuff. We have renovated several old houses in our time our home life is fairly simple. we enjoy the company of friends and good conversation .
    Sara enjoys crafts and singing, John likes old cameras and audio equipment .
    We look forward to welcoming you soon .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 121462376721