Beautifull old farmhouse in the heart of France needs help with gardening, recieving guests, cooking, animals and maintenance

updated
Country

France

Favourited 232 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/05/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    406

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    In the Auvergne (Allier, heart of France) in the middle of the French countryside you ll find our rustic farmhouse (1850) Situated on a small hill it offers a beautiful view over fields and forests. We are at the end of a small road, so no trafic. The Allier is a beautiful area to discover. From spring until automn we recieve guests on the campsite and in our gîtes (cottages), Chalet, Gypsy caravan and in several tents. In summer we organise a lot of activity's for the guests: yoga, canoeing, ponyrides, pizza evening, vegetarian dinners etc.

    We are a Dutch family: Ron, Mariken and two boys Nikola (1995), studying in India for Naturopathy and Igor, (1998) who did school for jewelry and is now working in the Netherlands and travelling. We have a dog, Elza, 6 pony's (Welsh), a horse, 6 cats and chickens.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You 'll be part of our family and have all the meals with us. I am a good cook and I cook vegetarian or vegan. We appreciate also to to try your cooking! Mariken is a Yoga teacher and you can join Ron and Mariken every morning for half an hour Yoga at 8:30. After that we'll have a super healthy breakfast and start working. In July and August it is very busy and we cannot do the morning yoga. Weekly there is one or two (two in july and august) yoga classes. Mariken is a Vipassana meditator and so is Nikola. There are bikes for you and wifi is available. On Sundays you are always off and we will try to show you around if we have the time, we will take you hiking or visiting nice villages, markets and festivals. If you come in the summer we'll always try that you can go once on a canoe trip with Ron and the guests. If you would like to give us a helping hand and stay in a beautiful place in the middle of France, a small paradise where you'll find hospitality, health care, natural food, yoga and all sorts of exercise in the open air : you are very welcome!

  • Help

    Help

    In EARLY SPRING, March and April, Ron can use some help with construction and repairing work. We will start the garden again, there is a permaculture garden but I am not an expert. In April we plant patatoes and lots of vegetables. If you are experienced with horses, you can help training, grooming and cleaning and riding! There is always wood to be cut and Ron goes often to the forest to cut some wood, you can join him if you like. In March we are preparing the gites for our guests. You'll stay in a small wooden cabin on the edge of the campsite or in a vintage caravan.

    In SPRING (April/May June) we would like helping hands for construction and maintenance, gardening, cleaning the gîtes, making beds, doing laundry, working with the poneys. Picking up poo in the field of the ponys, cleaning the chickens house, repairing fences, painting jobs, in June erecting the tents and putting everything in place, helping with cooking and baking, mowing the gras, Allways lots to do in the country side! You'll stay in a small wooden cabin on the edge of the campsite or in the caravan.

    In SUMMER (July, August) we recieve guests; about 60 people are staying in the gites and on the campsite. So more accent is on helping with cooking for guests and cleaning once a week. You help with the activity's we organise for the guests, There are always the animals to take care of and some gardening. In summer you stay in a small wooden cabin on the edge of the campsite. Because of the need to learn the routine we ask volunteers to stay with us for at least two weeks.

    SUMMER/AUTOMN (September, October) Harvesting! Harvesting patatoes, peaches, black berries making jam and helping to bring the tents down, clean the furniture, clean gîtes, general maintenance, animal care, gardening and enjoying the last bits of a beautiful French summer! You'll stay in a small wooden cabin on the edge of the campsite or in the caravan.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, dutch, french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Helpers can stay in a vintage caravan or in one of the two small wooden cabins, the size of a bedroom, on the campsite. They are simpel and basic. There is a one person cabin and a cabin for two. You can use the bathroom and showers on the campsite.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Travel info:
    Bus:
    Buscompagny can bring you all the way to Moulins and from there you can take the local bus to Montmarault. If you come from the south (Toulouse or Lyon) take that bus to Clermont Ferrand or Montluçon and take a bla bla car to Montmarault or the train to Louroux de Bouble or Lapeyrousse (we can pick you up there).

    Trains:
    *️️️️From Paris: take the train to Montlucon (direct train from gare Paris Austerlitz at 12h28 arrival at 4 pm at Montluçon. You can also take the direct train to Moulins sur Allier, leaving every hour in the afternoon from Paris Bercy). More info about trains:
    *️️️️ You can also take the train from Montluçon (direction Clermont Ferrand) go off at Louroux de Bouble or Lapeyrouse, that train leaves at 5.03 pm and arrives in Lapeyrouse at 5.30 pm, that is 12 km from us)

    *️️️️ There is a bus from Montluçon in the directions of Moulins or Vichy, that is ligne A and B and go off at Montmarault. (bus is much cheaper than train, only 2 euros one way) Check the timetables here and take in account the school holidays!! Summer holidays: July and august) because time table will be different:

    *️️️️ From Moulins there is no train going in our direction, you have just the bus to Montmarault (12h20, 14h15, 18h37)

    Tell us your arrival time and we will pick you up either from the busstop at Montmarault or railwaystations Lapeyrouse/ Louroux de Bouble. Or at the exit 11 from the A71.

    On Sundays there are less busses going, check this well!
    Please do not arrive on a Saturday in july and August because that is our most busy day of the week and we will not be able to pick you up.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

planting in spring
These cabins accommodate our helpers
Helping to put up the tents and cleaning them
Gardening in the vegetable garden with dog Elza
Relaxing and swimming on a Sunday afternoon
Fresh and natural food from the garden
Helping in the kitchen and seving guests
Helping Ron making furniture
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




















Host ref number: 119591167863