Help out within our ecological park in Machu Picchu, Peru.

Country

Peru

Favourited 2863 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    44  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/07/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    391

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 15 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! My name is Erwin, with my mother and brother we are a local family living in the cloud forest near Machu Picchu. In our property we are developing an eco tourism project with trails to waterfalls, mountains and botanical gardens.

    Our project is located 2 km from Machu Picchu. In 1998 , at the initiative of my mother , we started reforestation and creation of an ecological park that today is visited by tourists who want to enjoy nature in Machu Picchu. Looking for the restoration and preservation of wildlife habitat for increasing the native flora and fauna and biodiversity conservation.

    To support our project, we auto finance us and supply us with land resources and generate economic resources from the services we offer to visitors such as accommodation, camping and restaurant.

    Hola! Mi nombre es Erwin, junto a mi madre y mi hermano somos una familia local que vivimos en el bosque de neblina cerca de Machupicchu. En nuestra propiedad venimos desarrollando un proyecto de ecoturismo con senderos a cascadas, montañas y jardines botánicos.

    Nuestro proyecto se ubica a 2Km de Machupicchu. En el año 1998, a iniciativa de mi madre, iniciamos la reforestación y creación del parque que hoy es visitado por los turistas que desean disfrutar de la naturaleza en Machupicchu. Buscando la restauración del habitat silvestre para el incremento de la flora y fauna nativa y la conservación de la biodiversidad.

    Para sostener nuestro proyecto buscamos auto financiarnos y abastecernos de recursos de la tierra. Generamos nuestros propios recursos económicos ofreciendo servicios de alojamiento, camping y alimentos a los visitantes.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are very close to Machupicchu, you can come to our area by bus or train from Cusco (bus is cheaper). We will assist volunteers to get to our area. We can organize going together to Machupicchu and other excursions to beautiful atractions in our area.

    We had really nice experiences with volunteers from all over the world which has permitted us to exchange culture and points of view, we have learned many things from each other, share experiences, had fun, made some short trips and adventures in nature.
    We are still in contact with them, we have become a familly and always remember their contribution, initiative and love to our initiative.

    Thank you Andrew y Michel, Felix, Santiago, Valerie, Catalina, Rowan, Mariana, Amelia, Ricardo, Isabel, Jeff, Jason, Andrea Ponti y Andrea Jiménes, Charlie Aodhán, Manon, Fiona y Daniela, Andrea y Tanguy, Cort, Kamilla, Paige, Federico, Laura y David, Camila y Elena, Marie, Libero, Marion, Gaby, Francesco, Bruna, Irini, Jeremy, Luna, Christophe y Steven, Jotti, Sarah, Layla y Ross, Christophe Mermillod, Leonardo, Maciek, Simon, Annie, Angelique y Sarah Berry, Carla, Stella, Jasmin, Mikha, Caiden, Antoine y Nadège, Kim y Paul, Eleonora, Federico Fabriani, Leon, Cyril. Thanks to all our visitors who gave us some minutes of their journey to encourage us, share some ideas or even gave a hand in some tasks.

    Love to all.

    Erwin and Nelly

  • Help

    Help

    We need volunteers who can communicate well in spanish because our staff only speak this language.
    We are not accepting volunteers who want to contribute less than 4 weeks.
    We expect the volunteers to accomplish formally with the agreed period, otherwise they should not make the request and give opportunity to other volunteers who are willing to participate in our project.
    We will ask you to chat with us via What's app to make sure everything is clear before you apply for volunteer/internship.

    We need:
    A volunteer for reception and help with tourists.
    A volunteer for general maintenance.
    Long term multitasking volunteers.
    Artists, carpenters, biologists, designers and creators.

    We need help to improve our restaurant and accommodation services such as cleaning, maintenance, construction, decoration, design, painting, etc.

    Also within our park, maintenance, cleaning of trails and gardens, signage, construction, masonry, carpentry, landscaping, reforestation, cultivation of native species, invasive species control, guidance, monitoring, research, vegetable and fruits culture, etc.

    Eager to start and develop long-term projects permaculture, organic farming, beekeeping, healing and ecotourism.

    Necesitamos voluntarios que puedan comunicarse en español pues nuestro personal sólo habla este idioma.
    Esperamos que los voluntarios cumplan formalmente con el período acordado, en caso contrario no deberían hacer la solicitud y dar oportunidad a otros voluntarios que si están dispuestos a participar en nuestro proyecto.
    Se les pedirá una conversación vía What's App para asegurar que todo quede claro antes de submitirse como voluntario/practicante.

    Necesitamos:
    Un voluntario para recepción y atención a turistas.
    Un voluntario para mantenimiento general.
    Voluntarios multifacéticos para largo plazo.
    Artistas, carpinteros, biólogos, diseñadores gráficos, creadores de contenido.

    Necesitamos ayuda para mejorar nuestros servicios de restaurante y alojamiento como limpieza, mantenimiento, construcción, decoración, diseño, pintura, arte,
    Tambien dentro de nuestro parque, mantenimiento, limpieza de senderos y jardines, señalización, construcción, mampostería, carpintería, diseño de jardínes, reforestación, cultivo de especies nativas, control de especies invasoras, guiado, monitoreo, investigación, cultivo de hortalizas y frutales, etc.

    Deseosos de comenzar y desarrollar proyectos a largo plazo de permacultura, agricultura orgánica, apicultura, sanación y ecoturismo.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Quechua: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The project is located in an area surrounded by lush vegetation which run rivers and beautiful waterfalls. It is located just below the Waynapicchu, 2km (half hour) way of Machu Picchu.

    Our house has a terrace with beautiful view of the mountains, big garden, organic bananas and avocados, access to the forest and pristine rivers.

    We offer a bed in a rustic and shared bedroom or campground if prefered, wi- fi and a friendly and familiar atmosphere where mutual respect and appreciation prevails.

    We offer 3 meals per day one working days and 1 meal on free days.
    Since food can be different from the one you are used to, you are free to bring your own fruits or other groceries. Please notice, there is not a kitchen for use.

    El proyecto se localiza en un area rodeada de exhuberante vegetación donde discurren rios y hermosas cascadas. Está ubicado justo debajo del Waynapicchu, a 2Km (media hora) de camino de Machupicchu.

    Nuestra casa cuenta con terraza con hermosa vista a las montañas, jardines inmensos, plátanos y paltas orgánicas, accesos al bosque y rios de aguas cristalinas.

    Ofrecemos habitaciones sencillas o lugares en nuestro camping si lo prefieren, internet wi-fi y un ambiente y trato familiar donde prevalece el respeto y gratitud mutua.

    Ofrecemos 3 comidas al día los días de trabajo y 1 comida en sus días libres. Como nuestra comida es diferente a la que acostumbran, pueden sentirse libres de traer lo que necesiten como frutas o golosinas por ejemplo. Por favor sepa que no hay una cocina para usar.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are very close to Machupicchu, you can come to our area by bus or train from Cusco (bus is cheaper). We will assist volunteers to get to our area. We can organize going together to Machupicchu and other excursions to beautiful atractions in our area.

    We had really nice experiences with volunteers from all over the world which has permitted us to exchange culture and points of view, we have learned many things from each other, share experiences, have fun, made some short trips and adventures in nature.
    We are still in contact with them, we have become a familly and always remember their contribution, initiative and love to our initiative.

    Thank you Felix, Santiago, Valerie, Catalina, Rowan, Mariana, Amelia, Ricardo, Isabel, Jeff, Jason, Andrea Ponti y Andrea Jiménes, Charlie Aodhán, Manon, Fiona y Daniela, Andrea y Tanguy, Cort, Kamilla, Paige, Federico, Laura y David, Camila y Elena, Marie, Libero, Marion, Gaby, Francesco, Bruna, Irini, Jeremy, Luna, Christophe y Steven, Jotti, Sarah, Layla y Ross, Christophe Mermillod, Leonardo, Maciek, Simon, Annie, Angelique y Sarah Berry, Carla, Stella, Jasmin, Mikha, Caiden, Antoine y Nadège, Kim y Paul, Eleonora, Federico Fabriani, Leon, Cyril. Thanks to all our visitors who gave us some minutes of their journey to encourage us, share some ideas or even gave a hand in some tasks.

    Love to all.

    Erwin and Nelly

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day, 5 days a week

Nelly, my mother, cooking delicious pancakes.
Committed to work for saving the planet, every single effort counts. Thanks for your courage Svenja, we made it!
Hummingbird rescued after crashing with the glass, he was happy to find Valerie and after some pictures he flew safely.
Jotti building arrow signs, now hundreds tourist take selfies there everyday :)
Digging this was a painful and challenging work but Chris never got cowed. Thanks Chris!
Chris and Stephen building their personal-projects, durable and really useful. Thanks guys!
Angélique surprised us with her carpentry skills. Thanks Angélique!
Nelly and Chris packaging some of our organic coffee.
Working hard is not only a man's challenge. Thanks Bruna!
Have you ever used a chainsaw?
Marie's self project can be discovered at reception, thanks Marie!
Waterfall, only 20 minutes walk
Our volunteer Eleonora from Italy and I in our excursion to Machupicchu
Federico and Eleonora working on their "personal-projects"

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)



























Host ref number: 439364517312