A unique experience in an ecolodge in the middle of primary forest in the Amazonian foothills of Colombia!

Country

Colombia

Favourited 133 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we are looking for volunteers to make our lodge an even more unique place. We are surrounded by a real deep amazon forest with jaguar, spectacled bear, tapir, 5 species of monkey and about 500 species of birds.
    The lodge runs on solar panels and we have satelite internet.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gartenarbeit
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Hilfe mit Touristen

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn a lot about life in the Amazonian jungle. Our friendly guides will teach you about the fauna and the flora. Soon you will recognize the sounds, learn about our cooking and how it is to run an ecolodge.
    The lodge is famous among birdwatchers and photographers.

  • Help

    Help

    The reserve exists for almost 3 years and the major works have been completed. But many improvements are still needed (mainly the paths around the house) and maintenance (the trails).
    There is plenty to do in the reserve and you can basically choose what you prefer to do. For safety reasons we do not want you to do risky things. But I presume you will not ask to work with the chainsaw.
    Examples:
    *️️️️️️️️️️️ ️ the garden requires a lot of work and it is not easy. The soil is infertile, (except of course for the weeds). Moreover, it is teeming with locusts, eating everything.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️ ️ You can help the tourists, guiding, explaining the (safety) rules, etc ..
    *️️️️️️️️️️️ ️ you can help our caretaker with the maintenance or with small projects.
    Maybe you come up with an idea for improvement.
    We like you to stay minimum 3 weeks, as it takes a lot of effort to bring your luggage up and also it takes some time to explain how the lodge works. Also better for you as you will quickly work independantly and make your own planning.
    Also we limit to two workawayers (unless small families) as otherwise we can not give you enough attention.

    The food we prepare is delicious (mainly Asian food with Colombian ingredients). We are a lodge for tourists and therefore we are not strict vegetarian. It would however be hypocritical to try to save the rainforest and to organize BBQ's (meat is one of the main reasons for deforestation in Colombia). So we limit the use of (especially red) meat. And we serve many vegetarian meals as also a lot of our customers are vegetarian.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish, English, Dutch, German, French.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay in a room with 2 beds and you will have it most of the time for yourself or with another Workawayer. Young families are also welcome. Pets are not allowed (as in most reserves).
    Because we are already located in the foothills, it is not hot (never airco required) and there are no diseases, such as yellow fever, dengue, chikungunya, zika or malaria.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a extensive network of trails (25 km) around the lodge, with various swimming holes and look-outs.
    Apart from that we have 2 canopy towers (even with accommodation).
    Also there are forest walks possible (with guides) to other swimming holes and waterfalls.
    It is located at 1,5 hour driving from Puerto Asis and then a beautiful walk of 2 hours to the lodge. Your luggage can be brought to the lodge on horseback.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Me and my wife Martha
Wooly monkeys are coming sometimes very close.




Host ref number: 117314763189