Come and help us to look after our baby and cleaning in Montreal, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 246 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    In summer 2018 I moved to a diferent house than the one you see on a few o the pictures. The au pair bed room is very nice, with a private balcony! Pictures on demand.

    *️️2019*️️
    Right now we are all good untill mid August. Looking for sept-dec. Ideally someone for the 4 Months, untill Christmass.

    *️️2020*️️
    For those interested, I'm maybe planning a road trip July and August 2020. I should rent a van to sleep in it with Mathys and go all across Canda to the west all the way to Vancouver with some more time spent in the rocky mountains. Maybe returning Montreal through the States. The au pair who would want to do the trip with us should arrive at the latest June 1rst to get to know each other before. The person would not have to pay for the rental of the vehicule or gaz but should be very flexible on accomodation in exchange. The "I am not asking to share the fees exept food fees" would be in exchange for some hours of freedom for me during the trip (without Mathys, I mean) and help IN THE VEHICULE if Mathys is bored and sick of the road + help with directions and finding camp grounds. We would do couch surfing where possible and lots of camping. I have 2 tents, 3 sleeping bags, 2 floormats...
    _______________________________________

    Hi. My name is Ariane and I am a 39 years old single mother of one son. My son, Mathys, 5 y o. in June 2018, is a very cute, lively, enthusiastic, sociable, dancing, signing, funny kid. I need a minimum of 12 hours/week help to look afther him and 3 hours a week to clean the house. In total, I need 15hours instead of 25 per week so I DO NOT PROVIDE FOOD... Has been like that since 2016, when I started workaway... and even before.

    Now, I just changed job and it is very far from Montreal so I might need more than 15hrs per week. No more than 25! So anything above 15hrs in your schedule, I pay 10$ per hour (so you can buy food with it ;-) ) PLEASE NOTE IT IS NOT SURE I WILL ASK MORE THAN 15 HRS/WEEK AND PAY YOU!

    You'll have a private bedroom, space for your food supplies in the kitchen, access to washing machine, electricity, Internet (basic contract), heat, water all included in the deal, and all the house incl. bedroom is fournished and equiped.
    No personnal computer is provided for you and mobile phone contract to be able to reach you is to be discused.

    I am working in the theatre field in a School and from home. So some times you babysit and I am at home. Your "job", than, is to not let Mathys bother me and cary on with the agreed routine. Some times I am not home because I am still some where for work or I am taking place into a volunteering activity to change the world or I am attending a class for my own fun or getting to a theater play, wich is both fun and work ;-).
    I will need you after 5:30pm most of the time. I will also need you early in the morning, 6 to 8 am sometimes. I may need you during week ends. I will never need you during the school hours on a week day, exept emergency.

    I love traveling. I have kept very good contact with most of the au pairs we have had at home and some of them we visited in their home towns aftherwards! I feel very sociable, I can discuss all night if I have time! Lol.

    I need to have a real relation ship with the person who comes to live in my house even if we have little in common. I mean I would NOT appreciate someone who stays a lot in his/her bedroom. I have more dificulties with intraverted or people who go sleep at 9pm. I prefer to say from the start. I am not right! No one is wrong! I just know a few things about myself, what makes me happy and what gives me a hard time. That's all. That being said, what ever lifes puts on my road is good to try. We all have so much to learn at all ages...

    I am very very comunicative, direct and transparent. Requirments, preferences and expectations are usually more than clear. I have no problem with the multi-hat relationship with au pairs. I am more leader as to the "services" you give me with babysiting Mathys or cleaning the house. I am trying to be equal when bearing the hat of the room-mate and I am very keen to show an open mind and vulnerability when being into the more "friendly" relation. I have always done several activities with the 17 aupairs I have had. I always presented all my friends to them and it has always been deeply human and relatively fun. I could make schedules way in advance so all can manage the rest of the time and be able to plan ahead. Or not. We can go from week to week. I am flexible when we schedule. Less flexible when arrangments are taken... but I can be comprehensive to a certain extend.

    I care A LOT for environment. I am vegan but I don't ask you to not bring animal products to my house. I have had lots of vegetarians and vegans coming but it has never been a requirment. I am not extrem with food. I am a little more extreme with trash. I would be very sensitive to some one bringing styro foam recipients from take away 4 times a week. I do composting, recycling, try to pay attention to water, electricity consumption and to over all trash reduction (we are following the "zero waste" movement even if my new schedule makes it now more dificult). Someone who show no interest in being kind to the environment by making eforts within the above mentioned would ofend my deepest values and should probably not apply to come to our house. You don't have to be perfect either!!! Look at who is talking: I now have to use the (new) car every day for work!

    My house is a kind of sanctuary. It reflects my mind. I am not a cleanliness freak at all and most my furniture is recycled but I appreciate a lot beauty and order. I take care of things such as furniture not to have to replace it. Please do the same, especialy when drawing or painting with Mathys. Protect our stuff as if it was yours unless you do not give a damn about any stuff of yours. Lol. I care for decoration and ambiance. Being relatively tidy in the house is a requirment AND it has NEVER been an issue up to now. That also means tiding up when YOU play with Mathys. Not leaving it to me when I come home. Those are exemples of my expectations. Your bedroom is yours. I do not over look. The house is temporary yours too. AND there is a kind of GARDEN :-D. The dinning room and livingroom of my flat are into one big room, like a loft, where hanging out is easy and not intimidating. You can invite friends, listen to music... read and do computer in the commons areas... You know: like a room mate ;-)

    The situation of the apartment is perfect. The new house is into the trendy Plateau Mont-Royal neigbourhood, in between downtown and Hochelaga, where you can find Olympic stadium, bottanical garden, cheaper stores and a big Park. All facilities and fun activities within walkable distance exept maybe downtown (60 min walk?). Subway is not close but there are 3 buses around the 2018 house. Lots of cafés, restaurants, shops, people just out the door... and you could use the city bikes! It is probably the best way (biking) to discover a city.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here, you can learn English or even better: french.
    I will help you discover the best of Montreal.
    I can present you to my friends and invite you to
    participate in my social or cultural occasions.

  • Help

    Help

    I look for a / e helper (nanny) that helps in cleaning, 15 hours approx. per week.

    Je recherche un/e au pair (nounou) qui aide au ménage, 15 heures env. par semaine.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    I speak french, English, Spanish. Mathys SPEAKS FRENCH ONLY. But I have no problem if you don't speak french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    a private room in a 5 and a half room apartment.

    une chambre privée dans un appartement 5 et demi pièces.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Je suis une mère monoparentale de 39 ans qui travaille dans le domaine du théâtre, se passionne pour les voyages, l'écologie et aime cuisiner. Je suis végétalienne mais ne demande pas au aupair de l'être aussi. J'ai parfois besoin de rester plus tard au travail que l'heure de fermeture de la garderie. J'ai des pièces de théâtre ou documentaires auxquels je souhaite farouchement assister. J'ai des projets personnels pour lesquels j'ai besoin de temps en dehors des heures de garderie. Voilà pourquoi j'ai besoin d'avoir une personne pour me relayer auprès de mon fils, les soirs surtout. Week-ends parfois. Je fais les horaires bien à l'avance car je fonctionne bien dans un agenda très structuré. Cela dit, je reste relativement flexible. Je suis trèèès cool quant à la façon de s'occuper de mon fils (Mathys, 5 ans dès Jullet 2018) et j'ai déjà eu 17 au pairs (gars et filles) avec qui ça s'est toujours bien passé et avec qui j'ai toujours eu à coeur de faire un maximum d'activités. Je ne désire pas héberger une personne qui aime s'enfermer dans sa chambre trop souvent en dehors des heures d'aide au gardiennage. Je suis une personne très sociable qui a besoin d'être en lien avec l'autre... Mon appartement est TRÈS bien situé, sur le plateau Mt-Royal. Juste à côté sont toutes les grandes artères animées. Tout se fait à pieds sauf peut-être aller au centre-ville quand on est pressé (65 min à pieds) mais il y a, selon moi, plus de points d'intérêts dans mon coin que dans le centre-ville ;-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    env 1-3 hrs/jour, 7 j/sem. ALWAYS 15hours/week

Julie, première au pair de Mathys, en 2013
2014: Shandi, 2e au pair de Mathys, qui l'a porté en écharppe!! :-D
Avril 2015: cabane à sucre végé et Pâques végé avec le au GÉANT de Mathys et mes amis...
octobre 2015: Mathys aux pommes avec maman et sa au pair "Tatie"
A 2016 au pair from brazil who we had the chance to have over Mathys birthday...
An 2016 au pair who has had fun telling Mathys all about his kangoroo land and teaching him australian English.
Mathys and his mom BEING WORKAWAY au PAIR in Eastern Townships 2016
A dining room in wich we love to receive lots of people for diner and couch surfers sometimes too :-)
A 2017 au pair how has had fun with us during Halloween
Christmass 2017: We love to do cross country skiing and snow shoes in the winter
With brazilian au pair who stayed 6 Months with us, in a brazilian restaurant.
Camping, firecamp and vegan mash mallows, Mont Tremblant 2018
Mathys in Brazil 2018. He loooves juices and making faces!
Mathys and his mom visiting 3 brazilian ex and future au pairs! Brazil 2018










Host ref number: 112262488819