Hands on people needed for private island estate in south of france

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity




  • Description


    Myself (wendy) and partner feargus are acting as guardians for our second year on ile de patiras in the gironde estuary, approx 50km north of bordeaux. We care for the estate, the acres of land, trees, plants and several buildings (chateau, gites, workshops, outbuildings).

    Access to our island is by private motor boat and it is an extremely tranquil and idilic setting. The island has no roads, street lighting or cars and is incredibly tranquil. we do of course have electric, running water, etc!!! There is a train from Pauillac (where our boat is moored when we visit the mainland) direct to bordeaux, a truly beautiful city. With so many places to visit a car would be a bonus but not essential.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Help


    Through june to August we need help gardening the acres of land, general maintenance ( we are happy to teach you plumbing skills, building skills, etc). All of the work is very hands on and physical... But it is all carried out in the most beautiful and unique surroundings.... And lots of sun!

    June and july are mainly gardening, painting, general repairs, laundry/ironing of bed linen for the gites, the big clean and preparation after the winter closure. We are also hoping to build a walkway/steps at the shore to land from existing rocks, so man power and a chain gang would be ideal! I (wendy) am currently in hospital with a spinal injury, no link to the island though!!) but i will be on the shore with cold beers waiting!!! Feargus is a tree surgeon so most days you will have to look up to find him!

    In exchange we offer a double room, english tv, friendly company (ourselves, border collie, 3 mental bantam chicks, 2 lambs and such a vast array of wildlife i wont even begin!) all on a private island along with meals and local wines provided.

    Would best suit 20+ years, couple or 2 singletons (ideallyn 1 or both male - i'm the last person everr to be sexist but some muscle will be required for some jobs with feargus). please specify your age and M/F when emailing and if you are ok sharing with another person of the same sex as we only have one spare room.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English

  • Accommodation


    Double room (can be converted to twin) available and acres of land for camping if you prefer more privacy(bring your own tent though).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Feargus speaks fluent french, as do all of our local friends. However, i (wendy) am still learning and am admittedly appalling but i do try! I'm the internet /emailer so messages in english would be best please.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    4-5 flexible


My Photo Album

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 000000000308


Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.