craig & Lauren

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Faroe Islands, Iceland, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Maldives, Montenegro, Myanmar, Norway, Tajikistan, Turkey, Uzbekistan

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2018 - 01/09/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    335

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Craig and I (Lauren) are a fun and easy going couple who have spent the past 10 years working and travelling around the world with our trusty backpacks and 5 different campervans. We've found volunteering a great way to extend our travels, learn new skills and slow the pace down. Its fun backpacking around the world but we really enjoy periods of volunteering so we can stay in one place and get to know the area and the locals.

    There's been a variety of work along the way: helping build a cabin, making homemade jams and preserves, building mud bricks in the Sahara, housesitting, dog-sitting (our favourite!!), cutting wood, cleaning chicken coops, pruning trees, corralling escaping pigs, painting, serving guests, cleaning rooms and making wine, to name a few.

    We both love the countryside/rural lifestyle and enjoy relaxing with a book, hiking in the mountains and swimming in lakes. We tend to avoid city’s and most of our travel's are based around getting from one National Park to the next. We are very arty, Lauren is always embroidering something, painting, taking photos and writing a blog about our adventures, while Craig has made a collection of wooden jewellery for Lauren and loves to keep himself busy with fixing things!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    We have over 12 year’s hospitality experience each (waiting, bartending, chefing, barista) so that's where most of our skills lie. Our work has ranged from serving VIP guests in a boutique restaurant and making artisan coffees in a ski-town café to pouring pints for locals in a village pub and working in chain restaurants. However, while doing workaway we are enjoying getting our hands dirty in various indoor/outdoor tasks.
    We both have a lot of common sense and motivation so are willing/able to give anything a go. We're keen on gardening and love looking after animals, but a mix of jobs has suited us best. Variety is the spice of life!

  • Languages spoken

    English and very little spanish

  • Age

    35 & 29

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    Our future plans (dream) is to buy some land and build a little log cabin, have a big garden with enough space to grow vegetables and have some hens and a cow. We're hoping that helping various people in workaway will give us experience and knowledge to do these things. Until then we're enjoying exploring the world with our backpacks and a string of old campervans.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      Lauren - Vegetarian. Craig - Eats everything

Photos

My Photo Album

10 day hike through the magical Himalayas.
Holi Festival in North India, 2013
Wild camping near Death Valley National Park, USA
Our home on wheels, Beatrice, getting snowed in.
Hiking the Tongariro Crossing in New Zealand, 2012
We bought a boat ;) It lasted a couple of months and on its final voyage in Florida we had to fix a bad puncture with gum!
Cycling in China 2016
Watching a carving glacier in Alaska 2016
Hanging out with Sheila and Jack at the desert camp where we volunteered in Morocco
Conquering the highest mountain in North Africa, Mount Toubkal.
Celebrating our 10 year anniversary

Feedback