Remy

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (1)

Explorer

Friends (1)

Profile is connected to:

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Granada, Spain - from Jan 2022 until Jul 2022
    View all
  • Description

    **UPDATE**
    I am currently in Granada and loving flamenco guitar school and going to start the process of applying for a 180 day student visa so I can study here through July 19. After which I have committed to helping out two different Workaway family stays in Scotland probably through the end of September.
    Things change and the student visa is not a sure thing so I will update if they do. Thanks!

    Hey everybody, my name's Remy Trahant, I am a 43 year old musician living in Boston, USA.
    To pay the bills, I am a licensed plumber by trade in my home state of Massachusetts.
    I am coming to Granada in January to study flamenco guitar at Escuela Carmen de las Cuevas for 3 months.
    In 2021, I experienced my very first two Workaway homestays in Italy.
    I stayed for two weeks at Martin & Etain's sustainable farm in a valley near picturesque Gubbio and I helped out during the last grape harvest of the season at Jenn and Massimiliano's winery in Piemonte, picking in the beautiful Langhe.
    In my free time I volunteer at an organic farm and I also volunteer at various food pantries and participate in political activism.
    I am comfortable and experienced with staying in community living environments, youth hostels, camps. I like simple living and to experience the moment. I avoid technology and rarely use a smartphone.
    I hope to share musical experiences with hosts and other Workawayers.
    I am fully vaccinated and I just got the Moderna booster today (12/8/21) and will comply with all testing protocols including providing CDC card.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Sailing / Boating
    Yoga / Wellness
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Performing arts
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Videography
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Politics / Social justice
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Able to teach about:  

    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I speak some Spanish (best), French (basic), and Italian (beginner).
    I am a licensed plumber and can do minor plumbing repairs or advise if they are more than minor.
    I have some farming experience as far as weeding, planting, harvesting, and I love animals and would love to learn more about caring for them.
    I can read music, explain harmony and music theory to students, I can demonstrate singing solfège syllables and identifying musical intervals on the piano, I play and teach guitar, bass guitar and I am now studying flamenco guitar.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I would love to learn any and all languages, and I'm interested to teach English if it was helpful.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    43

  • What else ...

    I am also open to hosting someone for a short time if they were ever traveling to the Boston area and my mother rents her house there as well on a short-term rental site.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Friends

Photos

Feedback