Mariann

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling


    I enjoy recreating outdoors, both on land and in the water. Cooking delicious food, sipping a drink with good music in the background. Exchanging stories and books. Laughter, always appreciated.

  • Description

    Greetings,

    Although Covid has put a damper on travel, whenever it is appropriate, I look forward to once again meeting new people and experiencing new places and cultures in a safe and sensitive manner. I can abide by local Covid protocols (vaccination, quarantine, masks, etc) and do so with a smile on my face. I am happy to help Workaway hosts for a month, or more/less depending upon the host's needs. I'm a bit of a science geek and also enjoy all things archaeology, birding, cooking, dancing, reading, writing and learning as much as possible about this big, wide world.

    ** UPDATE 2021-22: I am at McMurdo Station, Antarctica until the end of February 2022. Afterwards, if Covid restrictions are lifted, I plan to explore New Zealand, and possibly crew on a yacht. I am also looking into ventures to Tasmania and... wherever the winds may blow. Let me know if you are looking for a WorkAway helper.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Water sports
    Winter sports
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Drawing & painting
    Writing
    Books
    Music
    Photography

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    *️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️ Workaway taco truck (Otago, New Zealand); food prep, serving, cashier, customer service, cleaning.
    *️️️*️️️ Workaway private residence (Queensland, Australia); gardening, landscaping and kitchen assistance.
    *️️️*️️️ Workaway dive resort (Sabah, Borneo); gardening, customer service, kitchen and diving assistance.
    *️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️ Workaway two lodges (Guanajuato, Mexico); housekeeping, gardening, customer service, painting, tiling and light carpentry and plumbing.
    *️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️ Food service management.
    *️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️ Founder/manager of an organic vegetable and herb farm.
    *️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️ Founder/director wholesale food distribution company with a emphasis on organic, locally-sourced foods.
    *️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️ Adventure travel and tourism industry experience as business manager, tour planner, hiking and mountain bike guide, snow coach driver, alpine ski instructor, dive boat assistant.
    *️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️ Sailing crew with over 8,000 miles logged and 8 months at sea; trimming sails, helm, night watch, navigation, anchoring, provisioning, cooking, cleaning, maintenance.
    *️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️ A variety of outdoor sport skills: multi-day backpacking, sailing, scuba diving, sea kayaking, river rafting, packrafting, alpine and Nordic skiing, mountain biking, road cycling.
    *️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️ Landscaping, gardening, irrigation, trail construction.
    *️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️ Basic carpentry and plumbing, painting, forestry, strawbale home construction.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Indonesian: Beginner
    Malay: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    51

  • Nationality

    American, United States

  • What else ...

    *️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️ I am capable of working alone or as part of a team
    *️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️ I am honest, reliable, tidy, organised, self-motivated and adaptable
    *️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️ I am a music fan of many genres; volunteer radio DJ for 12 years
    *️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️ Received full Covid-19 vaccination, April 17, 2021, will receive booster as soon as available
    *️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️ Advance Open Water PADI Scuba Diving certification
    *️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️ ServSafe Food Handler certification
    *️️️*️️️ Previously a Wilderness First Responder, Search and Rescue volunteer, PSIA II ski instructor

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback