Leann & Michael

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/04/2017 - 14/04/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello! Over the seven years that we (Leann and Mike) have been together, we’ve WWOOFed or workawayed at a dozen different locations on three continents. We’ve loved every experience and have had the opportunity to meet tons of different people living all sorts of different lives, lives that have inspired us to pursue our dream of owning our own land. And we’re almost there, but still traveling and still learning and thankfully we have an opportunity this winter to visit and help out in a few more places in our home country, the Unites States.

    We’ve long had an interest in small scale agriculture, and have built skills apprenticing for a full season on a CSA operation in Montana. Our current focus is on mushroom cultivation, but we’re still as interested in vegetables as ever, as well as homesteading and adjacent skills. Beyond the agriculture, we have worked seasonally in restaurants around the American West and spent a good deal of time rock climbing, a hobby that has become fairly consuming. We also read a ton of books, Mike does a bit of writing, Leann a bit of dancing, and are always down for a good conversation.

    We’re reliable, hard working, friendly, and generally low key people. We’ve always gotten on well wherever we’ve gone and with all the different people we’ve met.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in: 

    DIY and building projects

    Some knowledge of: 

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    We’ve both worked full season on production vegetable farms as well as numerous shorter stints on hobby farms, we know our way around the garden. We’ve WWOOFed on a dairy farm in Belgium, a ranch in Wyoming, and a Croft in Scotland and have worked with most every common farm animal. We’ve acquired some general handy skills, can use simple power tools and that sort of thing. Mike can drive a tractor (though it’s been a few years). We both have many years as servers in restaurants and are thus well suited into helping out with any hospitality related endeavors. We both speak English, Leann speaks Spanish, and there was a time when we could both speak French, hopefully some of that is left.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    27 & 27

  • Nationality

    United States

  • What else ...

    2016 - “We have spent time on many farms in many parts of the world. One day, we would like to acquire a plot of land of our own back in the United States. The primary thing that motivates us to Workaway is a desire to see how disparate people are living, both on and with the land, both within and apart from society. We know we want a piece for our own, but we are not yet sure what we will do with it. By meeting as many different people as we can and seeing how they are living, we hope to get a bearing on where we are going with our lives.“

    The above is what I wrote when I filled out this profile last, in 2016. We’ve learned a lot since then but the general message still applies, the only difference is now we have a better idea of what it is we want to do. We plan to start a small mushroom farm!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback