Luke

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/06/2019 - 30/09/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello everyone!

    My name is Luke Cronick and I am from Anchorage, Alaska, but currently living in Bellingham, Washington. I am 29 years old and have been an Emergency Nurse for the last two years. I am taking the summer off of work (and perhaps more) to really dig in and gain valuable skills in whatever I can about farming sustainably. My plan is to eventually buy a plot of land and start a farm of my own in the most eco-friendly way I can.

    As a nurse in the United States, I have seen far too many sick and unhappy people trapped in damaged bodies from the modern way of life. The best I could do was give them medication to alleviate their symptoms for the moment and send them on their way. The work has been exhausting because I feel like I am just putting a bandage on a problem and not fixing it. While there are several issues I can attribute to their current health status, it has come to my attention that FOOD has been the problem here, not only for the havoc it wreaks on people's health, but also what large-scale farming is doing to our environment and world health.

    I would like to do my part to learn all I can about sustainable farming, so I can be another person turning the train around rather than going in the same direction. I came into nursing to help people and I truly feel that food is the answer.

    What I lack for in current farming skills, I make up for with a huge eagerness to learn and help where I can. I also have worked my whole life and have had several manual labor jobs, so I know how to use many hand and power tools. I would also love to learn how to work with animals! No experience with farm animals, but that doesn't mean the interest isn't there.

    Growing up in Alaska, I was able to spend a large amount of time in nature, so I feel most at home in it. I feel that nature is something that all humans are drawn to whether they know it or not and I want to do what I can to share my love of it with people.

    Other interests and hobbies: yoga, nutrition, natural medicine (food!), MovNat level trainer level 2 certified, exercise, camping, music, stimulating conversation, philosophy, human history, brain hacks. Part of my journey and vision is creating a website/blog (current large work in process as I learn the back-end website stuff and information gather). This website is focused, in a nut-shell, on getting people healthy and able to thrive in the 21st century by really connecting them with everything that makes them human. This ranges from human evolution, nutrition, and gut bacteria to the mind and scientific advances of our time and many more. It's a large project, but am extremely excited about it and would love to talk about it if you're ever interested!

    Some skills I would like to learn: Sustainable farming (everything including starting one to food production/harvesting/cooking/preserving to random projects that need done), animal care, carpentry, building, musical instrument, singing, new language (fluent in English and speak broken Spanish), horseback riding, sailing, website building and design help and anything/everything you might find useful. Of course I would love to explore the area I am in too! I am well aware that I should not expect to learn all of these things at one place, just sharing that I have a wide-array of interests!

    What you'll get in return: eagerness to learn, hard work that was instilled in me young, no "cutting corners", and I would love to practice movement coaching on people too if you're open to being guinea pigs for a new trainer. While the added benefit of travel is apparent, I am not someone just looking for a free place and food while doing poor work so I can go see the sights. I want to learn, meet people, gain new insights on different modes of living and be useful above all.

    If you think that we'd be a good match, then please let me know! I am eager to get started.

    Luke

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    General yard work (had about 25 lawns through high school that I would mow for summer work), brush clearing, ability to operate chainsaws safely, can use wide-array of hand tools, initiative--point me in the right direction and you don't need to hold my hand.

  • Languages spoken

    English and some Spanish

  • Age

    30

  • What else ...

    I love to get out in nature, rock climb, trail run, hike, and oogle at views. Conversations always get really good on hikes I've found too so I always love the company.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Peanuts and Walnuts

    • Special dietary requirements
      I am trying to do more whole food, plant based and get away from dairy and meat. However, I will eat whatever there is. If there is an abundance of fruits and veggies, then that's my preference.

Photos

Feedback